Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Strider Submerge

by Britt Brady (Gloom) - Jam Entry

Controls : Z Submerge, X Shoot, Arrows Move

Programming and Design- Theodore Carter

Art, Design, Sound Design and Main Theme Music - Britt Brady

Sound Design and Boss Theme - Michael Jones

Voice Overs - Will Bucknum

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#123Theme(Jam)3.67
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#188Audio(Jam)3.47
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#282Fun(Jam)3.15
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#387Mood(Jam)3.04

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Cool game, great artwork for just 48 hours! I couldn't die though...

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really neat concept, and I like the gameplay so far. That said, it seems to crash Shockwave Player very easily. D: Otherwise really nice job! Love the narrator audio XD

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool game. With I had more control over the ship angle though. It is hard to hit enemies sometimes.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The controls could have been better (it's hard to aim at those fast-moving enemies when you can only shoot in 4 directions), but it's a very well made game. Awesome graphics.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I would love to see an arcade machine with it :'D!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Loved the audio! BANG BANG! Cool concept, though the difficultly curve seemed off. Great job with a quick tutorial, something not many LD games take the time to do.

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

Loved the visuals. I thought the voice overs were a nice touch.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

Love the mechanic for this one, a really fun idea to explore :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Like it! Maybe make it a bit more obvious when you're submerged or not, but really cool!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Great arcade feel on this, audio felt like an old capcom game. Nice job!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:26am

It was a great experience, Altough i had to imagine what it would be like with a freind. :(

DraKlaW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:48am

good game but lag and crash on firefox and chrome :(

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:49am

Looked great and seemed like a cool idea, but lagged ridiculously whenever things got interesting. It eventually ended up crashing flash, so I didn't get to play much.

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice game, got stuck quite quickly though...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Art is awesome! Cool entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]