Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MiniDungeon

by superfrog - Jam Entry

USE
X to fire
arrowkey to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#445Graphics(Jam)3.19
#641Humor(Jam)1.68
#674Audio(Jam)1.40
#708Mood(Jam)2.13
#711Theme(Jam)2.16
#751Overall(Jam)2.04
#752Fun(Jam)1.85
#757Innovation(Jam)1.77
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Stals says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very nice graphic, but lack of everything else. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U this video will be very helpfull for you

BigRat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

WELL.I think that it's not near the theme .Some advices.Change the controls.Let the player to jump,Create for player healthbar and when player collides with enemy player must dead.Add some music and some menu to give an atmopsphere.I will advice you to use opengameart.com it's free.But graphic looks nice .SO 3 stars is in place for this game right now.The theme is Beneath the surface and i don't think that it's close to it

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

The theme was not very visible here... The graphics were awesome, but it lacked on almost every other aspect. The demons didn't damage me, the platformer physics were a bit off... Keep working on this, though; this can become something really cool once you've got all bases covered. :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

It's a little bit simple but as others said the graphic is nice.

berareu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

As other have said it kind of lacks everything except for the graphics, even the enemies don't respawn and you can't do anything after defeating all of them...

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I'm not quite sure of the theme here? Nice textures though :)

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I'm not quite sure of the theme here? I also reckon it needs a bit of sound, even a couple of sound effects would make it nicer. Nice textures though :)

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I'm not quite sure of the theme here? I also reckon it needs an objective... (just a thought) Nice textures though :)

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Graphics were pretty nice, but the enemies didn't hurt me! And the players walking animation seemed to be broken.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Looks good but it's buggy and i can't really see the objective here...

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Anyone considering giving this game a good rating in the graphics department should reconsider. The player character and enemy graphics are stolen from the game Super Crate Box. Compare/contrast the screenshot above with the one here: http://images.jayisgames.com/supercratebox_3.gif

superfrog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15am

I programmed the game in 9 hours, character are used as placeholder cause the short time. But the word "stolen" is bad imho.

superfrog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

The game was programmed in c++, opengl. Anyway the jam it's a good starting point to create a complete game. Obviously not in 48h. for me it was important to create something that works on the screen.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06am

I know you are pressed for time in the graphics department and that you're going to use placeholders. That's not an excuse for taking graphics from other games without credit.

gwa says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:41am

You need more feedback to the Player like something happens than you touch a Monster and so on. I missed a jump button. At the end your game have the potential to be a cool one with a lot of fun :)

NeiloGD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Graphics from another game used without credit...not cool. Making it in 9 hours is no excuse, and even for a jam game it's a real jerk move.

Shivur says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:38am

I Like the graphics and the gameplay is promising.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Initially I was expecting some fun exploration, though it seems that I kept entering and exiting the same doorways in a loop and not able to get anywhere else. The graphics of the player and enemies were from another game, Super Crate Box. Also, the graphic theme was inconsistent. Would have liked to seen more originality.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:33am

My opinion's about the same as everyone else's. It was rather boring, and I don't see how it fits the theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]