Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Hole

by longloaf - Jam Entry

Tools: Flixel, Inkscape, Gimp, Sfxr, Audacity

Controls:
Level 1 - Mouse only
Level 2 - A/D or LEFT/RIGHT
Level 3 - WASD + Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#434Innovation(Jam)2.86
#463Theme(Jam)2.98
#578Overall(Jam)2.85
#600Mood(Jam)2.64
#613Audio(Jam)2.11
#651Graphics(Jam)2.56

Comments

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Nice mix of game mechanics. The fall sequence is pretty long, but well-tuned for reaction times. I was wondering how the last scene was going to end and the abruptness of it caught me off guard. Good show!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

It is nice! You got a mix of styles over there!

It would be nice to have an idea that we are getting somewhere when we are in the hole, btw.

avalonknight says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Not bad at all! The game plays well, and the even though the instructions per level was listed in the comments, I would've like to have seen it in the game in the same capacity. Especially since all three levels have unique gameplay.

Per level:
-I don't have much to say about level one. It works, and does what it needs.
-Level two did feel a bit longer than its suppose to. I also like the fact that your character is restricted to stay in those three spots while falling.
-I enjoyed level 3, since I like twin-stick/Robotron shooters! Maybe a life meter would've helped. But maybe it would've made it too easy in the end.

Reposting this from Newgrounds.

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31am

Not sure if this is true for others. But I could not see the player or what I was supposed to do in level 2, I figured out that the little guy is falling and is positioned at the top but some visuals would've been nice. (Again this might only be an issue for my pc.)

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36am

that was cool

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40am

I really enjoyed playing this game! Reminds me of the good old adventure titles. I thought it nice that you chose to implement a variety of minigames, really keeps things fresh!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Was fairly easy and really the second part went on maybe a little too long. Good entry.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I love games with adventure elements!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Pretty fun

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Cool for a first game.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Short and sweet! The main character's face is kinda weird though

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:29am

Very weird... But the mix is good. Bood job!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

cool game! liked the mix of the game mechanics

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Hehe, okay that was super surreal. It was really easy, but I liked the mashup of genres. And the pile of little flat men at the bottom of the hole made me chuckle.

Kalabasa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04am

woah. I don't know how to express what I felt. It's so random and stuff.

some criticism:
The falling was too long and the background on the hole was too noisy, so the spikes are not as visible.

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06am

I like it, but I felt like it ended a bit too quickly.

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

MUSHROOM OUT OF NOWHERE! I really liked that you respawn at the beggining of the "level". With most LD entries, when you die you start over from scratch. I have to say, the little dude gave me the creeps

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:09pm

This game plays nice, I liked playing it and the 2 parts in it have different gameplay, well done!

Sodaware says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Considering the game is made of 3 separate play styles, it holds together pretty well.

I would have liked the adventure part to be a little longer, but only because I'm fond of point+click adventures.

The falling section was really well balanced. The only improvement I can think of would be to have some form of indicator as to where the next block is coming from (like that horrible level in Battletoads).

The Robotron part was fun, although I'm not sure why I won :)

All in all, good job!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:18am

Oh the insanity. I love jams.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Interesting game. The point and click portion was fun. The falling down a hole part felt a little long. The last part was well done.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Disturbing graphics but pretty neat mini games!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]