Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Missing Potato

by DragonMaster21 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One day you were walking and decided to jump into a hole and now you have to find a potato!

Controls:
WASD to move
E to throw potatos, once you get them

Made with Java and the LibGDX Framework.

There's not really much gameplay but I hope you enjoy it anyways :). Some questions have been asked, so to kill the boss you must shoot it with your potatos

To run the jar on a mac, you need to right click on it and select open, otherwise it won't allow you because it has an unidentified developer.

Tools and Credits:
LibGDX
Box2DLights
Dermetfan
SFXR
http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#104Humor3.47
#292Audio3.18
#322Graphics3.55
#406Mood3.16
#470Overall3.26
#596Fun2.97
#607Theme3.21
#872Innovation2.64

Comments

V0ID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

I played your game but I was not able to defeat the jumping and shooting "boss" (I saw the console output). In contrary to the first boss you may not touch it and the jumping is not long enough to slip underneath the boss. What is a way to defeat it? I want to play the game to its end before I rate.

For those whose .exe version does not work: Simply download the jar and start in the console by "java -jar The Missing Potato.jar" (Probably best to remove the spaces from the filename)

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

can't beat the boss. I had a lot of oh cool.. moments. good job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Sorry, the boss was pretty difficult. I guess I should have lowered the difficulty a bit, I was afraid that it may be too hard. You just have to shoot it with your potatoes but the boss has quite a bit of health.

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

That was a fun silly little game. But one important question, WHY DIDN'T THE POTATO GO IN THE LAVA? Super potato?

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I liked it. The light effect was pretty, but a little distracting at times. The walking animation kind of looked like the first part of that Evolution of Dance video. :D

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Loved the lighting effect, it's really awesome! And the audio helped getting into the game.
Didn't like the action button being so close to the movement ones, but overall it's a nice entry!
Super lava-proof Potato!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Nice lighting, some things wheren't working properly when resizing the window tho!

otato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Probably one of my favorites so far. Nice job with the lighting, and the consistently styled pixel art helped add to the moody aesthetic. Overall great job!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

"One day you were walking and decided to jump into a hole and now you have to find a potato!". That sounds so stupid I couldn't help but play it!

I did not expect that dynamic lighting or potato-physics, awesome surprise! That walking animation really is the best. Gameplay was pretty mediocre, but the story made it a good bit of fun.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:37am

Fun game, nice work with the lighting.

dermetfan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Why write a top notch story? Just go "beneath the surface" and search a potato some giant skull lost! Well, they grow there, so it just makes sense huh... :D I even discovered ground water and it looked pretty nice!
All in all a neat little polished game that doesn't do much but does right what it does, enriching the experience with a little humor. Congrats :)
Just two logical flaws: Potatoes don't seem to care about lava and I became bff with the old guy after killing him ;)

Recon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Stereo audio, good graphics, potatoes, all we need! Good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Can't run this game on Windows 7. Got error "This application was configured to use a bundled java Runtime Environment but the runtime is missing or corrupted". Download it twice and still got the same error.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53pm

There are some bugs like lava-immune potatoe or entering next level while dead but it's a cool project. :)
Love your kind of humor.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Thanks everyone for your suggestions and comments :).

@BlazingFanfish Try and download the Jar file and run it from there

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:33am

I loved every minute of this. Seriously, this is one of my favorite games of the jam. The lighting effects are amazing, and story is hilarious, and the out-of-control physics are a blast. I lost it when I had to get past that dude's bed. Awesome!

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:29am

Love the humor, graphics, and music!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:30am

Yay, best friends forever! :D Fun entry. The super duper lighting and shadows added some nice atmosphere and the music was nice.

Dawildogra says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Strange bugs like 3 minute playing the game I just fall and everything stops except the music, and I can't do nothing

pikkpoiss says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:53am

I liked the lighting effects, they helped add a lot of mood to the game. I would've loved to be able to point my flashlight in different directions (maybe this was possible, but nothing I tried seemed to make it work). Really funny moments, like when I tried to throw a potato at the hungry person and it killed them. For the boss fight, some kind of damage indicator (even flashing when I hit it) would've helped me figure out what to do. Nice work!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

Even though this game is pretty simple, it's still a nice all-around package. The lighting effects you used were VERY spiffy, and the having it serve as the primary factor of challenge was cool. The auto-generated music was quirkily eerie and set a nice underground mood pretty well. It was also fun to play through for the silly story (I have a soft spot for potatoes myself). It's a shame this wasn't fleshed out a bit more, but it was a fun romp nonetheless. :)

SonicRaptor says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:06pm

always nice to see another libgdx developer

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:17pm

This is a nice start. The graphics were too dark to really see what was going on, so be careful about relying on Box2DLights *too* heavily.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:16pm

"YAY BEST FRIENDS FOREVER" *Instantly kills me*

He's really bad at being friends. This was a nice and wacky game, and I can feel that you poured a lot of work into it. I'm kind of tired of platformers, but it was a cool experience anyway, although a bit buggy.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]