Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Terry's Trans-Atlantic Travel

by Thresh - Jam Entry

Help Terry cross the what feels like never ending sea ;), but watch out! Hitting a boat or underwater mines, makes Terry lose his breath. Don't let Terry black out by

touching the surface or eating air bubbles. Try and get a High Score, mine was 394 during development. I had a lot of fun with this i hope you have some with this game too.

w = Move Up
s = Move Down

Recommended: If using Chrome, you can easily play this game in chrome by installing this extension: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/l%C3%B6veliness/mompnkcmpbopandjnddeecgeeojegohc?hl=en and then selecting the Love/Source version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness10%

Comments

alhvi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25am

Thank you for trying our game. Now I came to try yours :D. It was fun. I liked that the screen turns darker as Terry loses his breath. I liked how the waves move too. Nice music :D.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:56am

Can't run it :( Tried with the latest Love2D build and got this: http://i.imgur.com/b7XcyPA.png

May 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The game is quite fun, but it need more polishing. Might as well add variation of enemy to make the gameplay more interesting. Good work. :)

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:13am

Nice game.

praporomsk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19am

Playable, but I think you should decrease size of bounding boxes

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I like that you make the screen darker to represent how much oxygen you have left, that was a nice touch.

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I went 105 before I faceplanted into a boat! Simple but enjoyable game suitable for mobile devices if it's expanded on a bit. :)

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Damn, Terry collides with a mine and just gets a little out of breath? That's one badass turtle. Simple game certainly, but it works pretty nicely. The wave effect was cool.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]