Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coffee Digger

by jojocanard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left and right arrows to move.

First Ludum Dare. Made with haxe/openfl.

I know my devil picture is horrible ! I didn't have the time to draw him but I wanted to include him anyway :) Reach him if you can...!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#79Humor3.61
#156Fun3.58
#194Theme3.68
#203Overall3.58
#451Graphics3.32
#482Innovation3.16
#651Audio2.59
#665Mood2.88

Comments

Ishisoft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Fun concept, I liked chaining coffees together to go super fast. I wanted a lot more left/right control though, I didn't feel like I had enough time to react to get coffee / dodge lava, so I just tried to get coffee when I could and not hitting lava was up to good luck. Consider trying out responsive controls with instant changes in direction so the player can weave through obstacles.
The ending looks fun, shame I didn't make it there!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice concept, and congrats on your first LD. With a bit of balancing you might have something great here

jojocanard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Thanks ! You are definitely right about the difficulty, I am afraid nobody will see the ending, maybe not even the middle of the game ! Too late for a change I guess ?

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Good sound, art, and man, are those boulders helpful. . .

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Gread idea and Humor ! I had tons of fun ! :)

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Same reactions about the controls, but concept is nice (especially graphics)

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Haha, got 3 coffees in a row and then smashed into a lava :) A very fun game but a bit difficult in the start. I agree with Ishisoft regarding the controls, would be nice with instant changes but perhaps that would make it too easy? Nice job!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Your game reminded me of "Dig To China", which I played some days ago on Kongregate. It is a good concept, specially using coffee, but I found annoying the game controls.

It also would be cool if you tell beforehand that the red bricks cannot be touched, we discover this in the middle of the game (I thought it was a special mineral).

Good Job though.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Fun little game. The coffee bit was pretty funny too. The controls were a bit hard, but that's fine. Going to fast though makes hitting lava too easy, so it seems the best strategy is to limit your coffee intake.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Now that was fun and funny. I enjoyed it. Somehow it had a littlt C64 feel to it, I can't say why. Great Work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Looks great! Had a blast!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:47am

I liked the coffee aspect of the game

May 2, 2014 @ 6:48am

Love the premise of a caffeine-fueled dwarf! Good work.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:35am

I like it. The game feels quite polished. The only complaint is, that the controls feel unresponsive. The way it is right now, it feels a bit random how the game will play out.

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice little mechanic and funny concept, nice one.

x1212 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:34am

funny idea

CeriseGhost says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:36am

A really cool game! Very original idea!

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:48am

Nice entry for a first LD. Hope to see more in the future LDs!

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Quite simple but also a lot of fun. I like the coffee drinking animation and how it has an effect on the gameplay. Nice stuff!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]