Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave under The Surface

by gangsterboyyasin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare and i was kind of hyped for it, and i thought i would not even get the mechanics done in 2 days. But as to my suprise i got way further than that, but the game (still) has no gameplay at all. I dont think thats something that im going to reach in time. But as to graphics my textures kinda look like a van gogh if you ask me (might be thinking of the wrong drawer). and thats really all i have to say.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

Nkracer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46am

The sprites have a black background texture, and you can get stuck in a wall I'm also not entirely sure what to do, but nice job on the graphics!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Did you just call Van Gogh a "drawer"?

Gallefray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Looks cool, I can't play due to lwjgl being only fpr windows though :S

May 1, 2014 @ 5:35pm

To Gallefray i know i wanted to port it to mac but i have no mac to test it on.

To mrspeaker then what is he?

To NKracer transparency was being a b*tch it just wouldnt work and got me mad and yeah im not good in the physics.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Maybe you should have created the mechanics first before hand so you don't have to worry about it during the compo ;)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

To Nichii Aka. use an engine but i like to create my engines myself.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:47am

good

May 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I like the color of the dirt, its nice! loving the smooth graphics movement, looks cool! Great work :D Congrats on your first LD

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:35pm

A little buggy, but a strong start to what could wind up as a pretty cool doom-style FPS. Congrats on your first Ludum Dare! :)

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:02am

Hopefully next time you will be able to get the mechanics done quicker, then have time left for gameplay :)

Van Gogh could be called an artist or a painter

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]