Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arounder

by almosoka - Jam Entry

Controls:
ARROWS to move,
SPACE to deactivate red destroyers, and to build when facing walls.

Your goal is to get as high perimeter count (surface:) as you can without building out from the circled area.

You can download the music from:

https://soundcloud.com/almosoka/arounder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#106Innovation(Jam)3.66
#246Fun(Jam)3.22
#317Audio(Jam)3.18
#387Mood(Jam)3.04
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#536Graphics(Jam)2.94
#619Humor(Jam)1.81
#660Theme(Jam)2.44

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

pretty interesting idea! never seen anything like it! but it didnt go anywhere, unless i missed something. great job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

Not bad! Rules are not clear for me. But it was pretty interesing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Fun little entry. I had a little trouble controlling it though

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Music was great!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

a great game of the addicting kind .

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

Pretty cool! Once I understood how to play, I felt like I was really building something and "repairing" rather than just scrambling around.

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

Neat game and interesting.

tomhunt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:01am

I liked the sound. Seems like a neat idea. Controls were a bit touchy, and things went a bit too fast for me to process. Maybe try slowing it down a little bit, at least at first, so that new players can get into it more easily.

c1tr00z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:03am

cool, but controls sucks

CogComp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:05am

Really nice idea! Never played anything quite like it and really enjoyed it!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06am

My high-score finally was 52.

almosoka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

my best score is 64 as far as this comment. we havent done much playtesting. ;)

Anyway thanks for commenting everybody! The game is pretty unpolished in terms of gameplay progress and other things like help :).
I think we'll gonna make a post-compo version out of it.
Stay in focus!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Nice concept nice art style, but a bit confusing and hard to understand. Otherwise enjoyable. Good job :D

May 4, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Are the red spheres bad? I didn't figure that out...

May 4, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Really neat! Quite a novel gameplay mechanic

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:53am

Really like thise entry. The mechanics are nice and gameplay is good! Good job.

May 12, 2014 @ 4:25am

This is very nice! I'm surprised it doesn't have more ratings. Five stars for innovation, it's nice to see people actually trying to come up with new ideas (which is one of the things gamejams are best for) rather than rehashing old ones.

I had no trouble controlling or figuring out how to play, though I wasn't sure why the game just decided to end at some point (maybe it's timed?). Also would've been nice if the perimeter is actually highlighted differently from everything else so you can see what's actually counting toward your score. Solid entry though!

petey123567 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:21am

5 star title screen!

misterwalter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:16am

Definite Five star innovation here, the perimeter scoring system is totally out there and get's me thinking in weird ways. It was pretty incomprehensible at first, but it was so simple that I was able to piece things together pretty easily, so I think that's fine. Perhaps some effort could be made to make the red and green dots into more immediately understandable icons, such as cracks and bricks perhaps, but it wasn't a huge issue.
Also I see no connection to the theme...but whatever, it was a fun and inventive game so I personally don't care.
Great Job!

foolmoron says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Cool idea but it never ended... and then I got isolated in an island and had to sit and watch my whole tunnel system get destroyed

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]