Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In Too Deep

by Toestee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Too Deep

Thank you for playing In Too Deep. In Too Deep is an adventure story game, entirely made over a span of 48 hours for Ludum Dare #29.


Controls:

A or Left - Left
D or Right - Right
Left Mouse - Click.


If you find any issues, or wish to contact the developer, my email is DoofDoofGames@Gmail.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Mood4.02
#53Graphics4.28
#258Theme3.61
#258Overall3.50
#292Humor2.89
#450Fun3.13
#751Innovation2.80
#852Audio2.15

Comments

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice graphics, nice story, I really like the ending, that was a journey for that guy.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Wow nice mood and such a sad story. graphics superb

Luflz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

Great narration, nice distinctive style, can't wait to see the next one!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Really excellent graphics, and the story, whilst short, was great fun. You definitely managed to hook me in quickly :)

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

short and sweet but I loved it.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice story dude, poor guy :(

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I like the dusty effects and the nice little story. I would have liked some choices along the way to make it a game and not only a story.

elfeck says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Great mood. Little details like the smoking make it that much better. Graphics are nicely done as well.
Somehow I accedentely skipped some dialog and music could help the mood even more.

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Great story and graphics but, is there a way to change the ending? :/

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

good job on the pixel art dude

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

great story indeed, I liked the art style too. The colors could've been a little better though!

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Hitting all the right noiry notes. My only complaint is that it's too short, I WANT MOAR!! :D Nice work!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Couldn't run it on Linux (Fedora 20): ./intoodeep: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The only complaint I have is the length. Everything else is practically flawless.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

I really like the graphics and the Noir-style mood. Wish there was a little more interactiveness to the story, though.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nice story and loved the graphics

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Short and sweet.

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

Great narrative and beautiful graphics with the perfect ambiance. Perfect for LD!

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

wow. great story telling and mood. gameplay was... almost non-existant. i was expecting to be able to do more. but it was still an interesting experience.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Really cool game, I also think it could do with being longer!!

I'm confused by one thing though, it looks like you just used construct2 and jquery to power it so why don't you put this on the web? Does it really need the nodewebkit packaging? I'd rather play it online instead of downloading it :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Damn that art is awesome! This is my new favorite!

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

I really loved the mood that was built up and the ending was great. Wish it had been longer. Experienced quite a bit of freezing.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

I love the graphical style. You did a fantastic job!
As others have said, a little more interactivity or choice would have been nice, but as it is, the story you tell is complete, so it's hard to complain.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Cool art-style man

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very very well done. Loved everything about it :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great ending and awesome graphics :D

May 3, 2014 @ 10:10am

The pixel art is great. Animation too. I wish there are some gameplay or puzzles to solve, but time is short. I'd keep working on this. I'd definitely play adventure games in this style. Nice job.

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:27am

Absolutely loved the very class feeling and graphics in the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]