Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dereck

by Fnkee - Jam Entry

Solo project (music, art and programming). I had planned to join the compo, but didn't finish the game in time. Enjoy the company of stupid Dereck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#137Innovation(Jam)3.56
#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#352Graphics(Jam)3.44
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Cool!

Jimanzium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The controls seem really weird for me, the time between steps seemed in-consistant and often took 1-2 seconds. This could be a preformance issue, I'm using Firefox on Ubuntu

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice idea! Holding the key down to move was a bit annoying though, it probably would have been smoother if you could just hit the key to move.

The graphics and music are great. Good job!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the idea and the graphics and music. Really cool. Too bad it was barely playable because it wasn't accepting my input most of the time :-( Will still rate it as if it did ;-)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

i really enjoyed this game! the sound is awesome and the idea behind it smart! Keep up the great work so i can play more of your games (- : thx for making this one

May 3, 2014 @ 12:40am

i beat all the levels. I loved this cute little game. <3 haha! nice concept and musics!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:52am

Cute music! I love how you use rhythm and music in the levels. Cats are great, so are games with cats!

Vandash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice idea! There seemed to be a problem with the keys - about half the time I pressed, nothing would happen - and you should at least get a glimpse of the alternate world before you start, but it's a good little puzzler

Dreii says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:28am

This was pretty funny :) quite liked it.

May 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

Great job ! Loved the music and the graphics :) And the concept was pretty cool

Dans17 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I like the music, art, and idea. Good job!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Controls seemed strange at first, but we see later that they needed to be this way. Great game :)

rojo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:44am

Fun concept, and the music was great. My biggest complaint is that the controls were a little unresponsive for me. I think a sound effect for when he hops to the next square would be a nice polish item.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Controls :-( Same problem as others -- seems like input isn't processed regularly sometimes. I liked the graphics and audio though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]