Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prison Digger

by fingerspit - Jam Entry

wasd - movement
j - listen through walls
k - dig

IN 1983 A SHITLOAD OF CARTRIDGES WERE BURIED ON A DESERT BY SOME VIDEOGAME HATERS WITH NO REASON. ONE OF THESE CARTRIDGES REMAIN ON A MAXIMUM SECURITY PRISON BENEATH THE SURFACE. TODAY, YOU, AS THE PLAYER, WITH A SPOON (K) AND TWO YOGHURTS (J), WILL RETRIEVE THE CARTRIDGE AND TRY YOUR BEST TO RESCUE EVERY HOSTAGE IN THE PRISON.

DONT FORGET TO DIG YOUR WAY OUT OF THE SCREEN TO SUCCESS. GOOD LUCK!


by Jonathan Romero @Expin3 & Pablo Ruiz @thefingerspit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Humor(Jam)3.71
#69Fun(Jam)3.64
#115Overall(Jam)3.64
#173Mood(Jam)3.53
#177Innovation(Jam)3.43
#200Graphics(Jam)3.83
#236Audio(Jam)3.36
#316Theme(Jam)3.27
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

I opened this game hoping for a realistic penal experience. Instead, I found myself waiting literal years in the game without release. Being an ethical and conscious video game player, I could not will myself to attempt escape. "Surely," I told myself, "I will serve my time and society will welcome me back with open arms." But nothing came. And so, as I type, I am still waiting for release...

Is this a scathing commentary of the state of the US penal system? Desperate for food and water, I attempted to catch the attention of a nearby guard, but all was in vain.

I am terrified I will be trapped in this prison forever.

Send help.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

Wow nice game ! Much harder than first thought ! The gameplay is very interesting, I've tried and fail so much :P Really good game. Graphics are awesome !

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:04am

Impressive! The menu/gui is cool, the animation is cute, the SFX work well (although a tad loud but that's ok). The gameplay is pretty brutal and I was really never able to make it very far. It doesn't seem like there's anything I can do to attack the guards, so the game is a lot of trial and error to build a mental map of the level.

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09am

Exceptional game, everything from the concept to the music to the pixel art.

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:20am

Hey this is a cool game! :D I like the mechanic of being able to see through the walls before you dig. And the level is nicely designed :]! The text at the beginning was a little hard to read, but it wasn't a big deal.

I think one thing I would have liked to see is a time limit or something that would play on the balance between being careful by taking the time to listen after each dig, and being a bit more risky by digging repeatedly. I felt like to beat the game, it just wanted me to play extremely carefully and listening multiple times before digging (in case of digging into a corner). I didn't have the patience to do that, unfortunately, so I have to say I died a lot.

The game is really fun nonetheless though! And the graphics and sound are awesome. Digging just _feels_ good, and I think that's really really important. I also really like the hostage rescuing mechanic, it's a lot of fun to have a little crew follow you around. Nice work! :D

xk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33am

Good job!

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01am

Awesome game, loved the graphics and audio and everything. Well done!

flatgub says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15am

Really Enjoyed it! The graphics were really nice and the music was great! I loves the makeshift tools x3
The only problem i really had was the audio spam when you were colliding with a guard. Great work!
-Flatgub~

May 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice game! I really like the music. The presentation in general is really good. Fun times.

UnixXNova says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:41pm

some weird glitch happened and the sound really went up and went into static for a couple of seconds and scared the shit outa me, i like the graphics, good entry

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Wow. Really nice. I like the listening mechanic the most out of this entry. Pretty solid all around!

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Some of the audio was hard on the ears, like when you got busted. Good idea though.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great idea!!!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice idea and solid execution, but one little change would make the game more bearable to me.
Instead of having to spam j to listen through walls the character could listen automatically when pressing/walking towards a wall.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:37am

solid game with unique gameplay - great job

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Great entry!

May 10, 2014 @ 8:53am

Great grafx and animations! Couldnt get very far but the idea is definitely innovative, great work :D

May 18, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Amazing game! Love the idea and overall game concept! :D Great Job! :D -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]