Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Tree

by Joritan Cety - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Common problem: if the game window opens, then immediately closes, run the game from the terminal (java -jar PATH_TO_JAR_HERE)

An enemy has built an underground base we haven't explored yet.
Control the robot sent to explore the enemy base.

Instructions will be given in-game.
Read in-game text!

NOTES:
Extract the ZIP file before running the game!
This game requires Java Runtime Environment to run.
If you have trouble running the game, try updating Java.
If you still have trouble, leave a comment describing the problem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#690Innovation2.88
#742Audio2.40
#798Overall2.93
#899Mood2.60
#899Fun2.62
#902Graphics2.62
#1001Humor1.75
#1088Theme2.39

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

I can't run it. The window flashes for a second.

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

You have to update Java to run it, or run it using the command line

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

The game opens and then immediately closes. I think it is not finding the resources correctly. I had the same problem. You should be loading resources through inputStreams (or at least, that was my solution).

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Pretty cool. Not immediately clear as to how it relates to the theme though?

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Actually, it runs from the command line just fine for whatever reason. (java -jar FILE_PATH_HERE)

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

Yeah, I had that problem while testing the game... Updating Java fixes the problem, but running it from command line is fine.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Works fine here. Cool game, works really well. But I think 1or 2 hits should be enough for a turret. Great game though

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

If you are using slick2D you need to have the libs and natives included in the folder with the jar file or it will do bad things (made my computer freeze, had to force shutdown).

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

The turret's shooting became a little bit annoying after a short time. the dash is an interesting concept but using wasd it was difficult to use shift or ctrl.

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice Game, I had no problems running it.

fernandomdr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

It took getting used to but it was cool: D

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

Very interesting game. I found the text a bit hard to read.

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

The tutorial text was long and kinda hard to read, I think the font was a bit small, so the beginning was a bit slow, but once I got to the later levels I was having fun. Interesting situtation having to melee attack turrets.

Kaoin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Pretty cool game ! A few main problems I have with gameplay though. The enemy bullets are near invisible, the charge and sprint buttons are awkwardly placed on the keyboard, Its not very noticeable if the enemy takes damage the and the charge attack recharges so slow with the amount of enemies there are at later levels.

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Pretty cool game, I really liked how the tree thing looked after every level.

letoine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

Nice, I had some trouble with the controls. Ctl+Key makes desktop switch on OS-X.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

I liked the branching tree structure and the gradual introduction to new mechanics. It was a little frustrating at points, and the graphics were a little small (hard to see), but overall, a good show. Lots of levels too :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Liked it :) DAT LEVEL END SOUND THO, JUST ABOUT LOST AN EAR.

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Unfortunately for my computer unsavy self, I cant get it to run, nor figure out how. Looks to be a bit of fun though from the screen shots :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Graphics could have been a bit bigger (or allow the window to scale?), as I had to squint a lot.

Other than that, neat game! I liked the branching mechanic!

valgriz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Quite good

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Loved it! The movement of the tree was a really nice touch.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

really need concept. I think your map is really cool. It's different and reminds me of some sort of virtual web. The enemies became repetitive though, and destroying them was tedious. Cool concept though. A sound for when I hit stuff would have been great too.

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty nice game, i like the level menu

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

I like the branching level tree of levels, but the combat is a chore.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

As already mentioned, the theme is not that clear in the game, but what the heck. The concept is quite nice, although I got a bit frustrated ramming into the turrets and waiting for the robot to heal. Music would've been nice as well. The font you used was really straining my eyes, and overall the graphics "flickered" somewhat, probably due to nearest neighbor filtering and slightly scaled textures..?

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

Interesting concept :)
I like it

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Fantastic, liked the level design and mechanics!

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

Was alright,

It was hard to tell if I was at level selection menu in the beginning. I liked how the level menu screen provided feedback to the player when you unlocked the next level. Bullets are really small which made it difficult to be aware of them. Health was responsive and easy to read. Clearer feedback for the player when your character gets hit.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

Pretty cool game I might say

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Heh, I had some other music while playing this game, and it fitted so well I actually thought it was from this game. Now, replaying it, I felt there was something missing... anyway.
What can I say? I sat, started the jar file. And played till the end of it, and felt sad when it said it ended. This game is pretty neat, and addicting. It's all about patience and mastering the mechanics.

Also, it made me remember those old Windows 3.x games.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

I like the concept, balance, and particle system especially in this once. Nice job!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Art style is cool, the controls got stuck for me though, I was constantly moving forward (macOSX version)

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

Cute graphics (smoke effects and tree world particularly), but gameplay was pretty slow (and repetitive). Would have been a lot faster paced if the turrets only took 1 hit!

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

well done :)

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

very challenging and fun game, missing some feedback when I hit the enemies.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

The concept was good at the beginning. But after going through some level, I lost my interest. I think it's need some unexpected mechanic to keep some of the player like me to keep interested in the game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very fun game, nice graphics too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

nice entry..good work :)

May 2, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I like the concept but graphics are too small and I can't see any projectile. Besides, its hard to tell when you hit some turrets.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]