Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Fall

by peo - Jam Entry

Graphic design: Meka
Music: Zu'
Code: PeO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#308Fun(Jam)3.10
#413Audio(Jam)2.97
#415Innovation(Jam)2.90
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#433Graphics(Jam)3.23
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#594Mood(Jam)2.65

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I definitely enjoyed it and thought the game was cute. I would absolutely play it on my Android phone if it had some more variety to it. I thought the alternating modes was innovative.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very good game. I enjoyed playing it. I think the concept is very intriguing.

zed0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

It's a pretty neat idea. I like the format, but it seems like there should be a penalty for failing to shoot blocks, so you have to remember the pattern when you fall so you can shoot them all. The animations were cool!

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26am

Nice having the two game modes to make it a little less generic. Shooting sections are a bit too easy if you just spam the fire button.

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

The graphics on the character and the varying gameplay I liked the most.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice polished little game. I didn't see any reason not to just stand in one place and spam shoot though. Do the blocks you miss fall through and make the next section harder? If they don't, I think that would be a pretty cool incentive to try get them all!

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice game play although I felt like I wanted to be able to shoot the blocks when standing on the platforms or when I was falling.

peo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:54am

Thank you all for your comments! We definitely love the idea of doing a smartphone version.

That is right that the game is a bit too easy. We initially wanted the player to collect ammo during the fall so the number of shoot would be limited in the firing section. And their should be more blocks to dodge!

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Suprisingly original concept, loved it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I like it, very simple but addictive thanks to the music, I could play this all day!

I was expecting something bad to happen if I didn't shoot the blocks, pretty easy overall, but fun!

Miltage says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Interesting concept, I feel it could do with being faster paced. Also maybe have the speed ramp up as you descend.

TeamFlare says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Very nice and fun game. The graphics are very cute. Cool entry.

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:32am

This was a fun game with nice controls and cute graphics. The two game modes is an interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]