Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill A Drill

by Nyyman - Jam Entry

Drill A Drill is a fun arcade endless digging game, where you have to get as deep as you can, controlling the direction where you dig into. However, a lot of hard minerals show up and your drill won't endure drilling through many of them. Avoid the unwanted minerals and dig only through valuable ones to repair your drill and use useful boosts. Upgrade your drill between runs by getting a high score!

The Windows build linked is a zip file. Due to GameMaker, most browsers probably say the file is a virus. Don't worry though, it obviously isn't! We didn't want to build an installer because it takes more time for the user, but the .exe is recognized as a virus for some reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This is and interesting game and the audio is funny. I dont get the point and the fixing of the drill is an exploit but fun all the same

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03am

I dig the vocal sound effects. I didn't seem to be able to upgrade my defense, and somehow on my second run I ended up with negative science. Cool game, though.

Nyyman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

The defense upgrade bug was discovered too late, we'll fix it when we have the time. And we thought that we already fixed the negative science bug, but thanks for mentioning it, we'll likely fix it today or tomorrow.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Fun little game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

So fast, hard but fun gameplay! Tha a capella kind of sounds are great.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Pretty neat and funny!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Really loved the audio in this nice simple game. Didn't fully appreciate you're not collecting the money, just using it to gain depth, but that's a nice mechanic too.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Loved the sound. Thought this was well done. I liked how the drill wore down as you went so you had to collect money and had to repair. Nice tuning.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]