Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flood Trap

by amymist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first Twine game!

Anyhow, this is a little game called Flood Trap. You've woken up in an undersea base, and have to find your way to an escape trunk on the top floor before it floods. You can also try and save the three other people inside the base, if you want.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#506Theme3.32
#707Mood2.83
#933Innovation2.56
#976Fun2.50
#1016Overall2.69
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

There's something really interesting about trying to escape a flood via a text adventure. BTW, the first "east" option seems to lead to a dead end that says "room content", and the only thing to do at that point is restart.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

Decent text-based adventure game, though it gets pretty click-heavy. It has promise if the rooms had more description. Without landmarks a lot of them seemed the same. I died once, but being able to immediately go back to where I made a mistake was nice. I also found one room without content. I managed to escape in the end!

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

I tried playing a few different times to save the people. I never figured out what the pipe I acquired was for. I got to one room that just said "room content" (don't remember the path). A bit easy to get lost, but that's to be expected in text based games. I think the alternate "endings" is a good idea, but the strength of text based games lies partially in the story which I felt wasn't there.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

As already mentioned, the first room to the east is broken. Other than that, an interesting approach to the theme. :)

amymist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

Ah man, I meant to fix that! Thanks for the catch, its been fixed. (The room's still empty, but not a dead end, haha.) Thanks for the catch!

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

I never played text-adventure before, and I really like this! Great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

The mood is real good.
A bit repetative maybe, would be fun with more
variations.

And as others have mentioned it just says "room content" on one of the door links.

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

could have been fleshed out by some more story. but I really felt some fear of death while I was climbing up pipes ;)
well done.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Awesome. Love text adventures. It was a bit disorienting without any details or information to remember rooms by. Strangely moody for such a game.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I'm not sure how I feel about this one. The prose is very spartan and minimal -- but I kind of like that. For some reason it creates a distinct mood. On the other hand, it does make it seem a bit unpolished and at times bland. I'm curious as to whether it was a conscious design choice.

There are some bugs (one of which has been highlighted) but another pervasive one was: "Introducing himself as Apollo, he agrees to go with you.
Backbad expression: Unexpected string"

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]