Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deeper Beneath the Surface

by Havacore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space is jump, WASD or Arrows will move you, spikes and zombies kill you. See how far you can go without dying.

This is my first Ludum Dare, and my first attempt making something with Unity. I ended up spending a lot of time basically just learning how to use Unity, and I also didn't give as much time as I could have all weekend for making this, but I'm still really happy that I finished something that I can call a game in a weekend. I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#559Audio2.78
#709Fun2.85
#850Theme2.90
#917Graphics2.60
#999Overall2.71
#1100Mood2.28
#1217Innovation1.95
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

Dear me, this is boring, and the controls are far too floaty. The music could have been much better, the sounds are barely audible, and it's way too repetitive to keep the player's attention.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15am

Yeah 410 :D.
I think the music is good. with wich software did you make it?

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16am

Great game. I love the music!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

Really simple yet also really fun. I like the pixel art. Also, this happened and I couldn't help but make a gif of it: http://postimg.org/image/5ubryxg9v/ :)

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice game, could use a bit more polish, gameplay reminds me of my own entry! Would be fun if the difficulty increased as you went down, a bit to easy at the moment.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Cool game idea ,but the background is too brown. Change the dirt to stone .It's also a funny game i think.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Need something to add some kind of depth to the gameplay.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Cool! Nice first foray into the world of Unity.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

Pretty repetitive. Once you get the hang of it, you can go forever without dying. (When you die, there's no way to restart without reloading, which is annoying). If it got harder the further down you went, with new enemies, fewer platforms, etc., then it would be fun. Graphics are alight, and the music is good.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

Having said that, alright for 48 hours, epecially if it's your first time using unity.

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:26am

Congrats on your first unity game! This is a cool game, but it's not very challenging and it's too repetitive. The style and music were great!

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice little game for your first try.
I wasn't particularly a fan of the graphics or music, but I chuckled when I saw two zombies getting stuck with each other. (Thanks to IAmSpencer for making the gif).

Daveloper says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:23am

A good effort for your first ludum dare, and especially considering you are new to unity. Keep on studying and making games :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]