Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The space below

by NuSan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control some sort of hovercraft and need to follow the track.
Use arrow keys to move the vehicule, and try to improve your total time.

PostCompo version let you realy go from one side to the other seamlessly.

Tools used : Unity 3D 4 - 3DSMax 2013 - Photoshop CS2

First time using Unity, but its a great tool, i realy like tweaking shaders.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#525Graphics3.21
#618Fun2.95
#915Mood2.59
#928Overall2.79
#1056Innovation2.37
#1135Theme2.28
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Liked the concept, but controls aren't really smooth :/
Specially in the underground part. There the control makes it really impossible to advance fordward unless you do it really slow. Took me 2 minutes to complete the track ^^
Keep working on it :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Nice concept, but the controls were not so good.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55am

The camera makes me dizzy @_@

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

I do love racers like this. Needs work but a great attempt for a first time unity game too!

Christophe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Controls are not easy but maybe it's what you wanted to have.
Really fun that transition beyond the surface Nice Work!

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:45pm

That was fun. And the trippy space sections were a pleasant surprise. Yeah, the controls could be a little less "slippery". I know that is kind of the point, but it's maybe done to excess.

davidB says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:22am

Too many inertia, so player can't run full speed :-(.
I like the level beneath the surface.
Adding arrow on floor, wall can help to find the right way.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:32am

Cool world and nice game! Would be a lot more fun with less slippery movement.. and was a bit difficult to know where to go in the space level.

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:35am

The concept seemed nice, the controls were maybe a little too harsh, but with more practice they could've been more fun. I glitched out of the world once on the compo version.

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:09am

Damn my motion sickness. I was really enjoying your racer game.

May 18, 2014 @ 11:01am

Awesome. Anything with drifting gets my vote ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]