Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Couch We Go

by haloflooder - Jam Entry

Into the Couch We Go!

*Note: Will be porting to Android/HTML5/OUYA

Before I start with the details. These are some things my friends told me when they were testing my game.

________________________________________________________

"This game makes me want to throw my remote" ~ GoneZero

"I died in the tutorial..." ~MagicMQ

"F***ing level 1 is so hard..." ~Ethan
________________________________________________________

This game is a platformer game with a twist of parkour. It may sound like an ordinary game but I somehow accidentally did good at level design and make the game hard.

Again, I was going for Compo but I had a lot of great ideas that did get implemented except for the enemies. I had them drawn but I didn't have time to code the AI for them.

I'm also very disappointed that I didn't get to put ANY sound in this game... Huge disappointment I know...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Humor(Jam)3.94
#77Fun(Jam)3.61
#97Theme(Jam)3.74
#172Graphics(Jam)3.89
#216Innovation(Jam)3.35
#271Overall(Jam)3.37
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

haloflooder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Noticed some major bugs that appeared out of nowhere after I made some final changes before the deadline.

bubba1234119 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

This can also be played on ubuntu or another linux distro by unextracting the cab file so the dll and exes and seperate by using wine.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28am

Probably the most creative idea I've seen so far. Good work!

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

haha cool game, I had no sound I'm not sure if it was because of a bug (so n/a). I don't know why I have a life if I get kill by once haha it's very hard but addictive. Also, didn't use the gun (only for shooting once to the floor). great job!

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

How did you came up with this idea xD ? Awesome use of the theme

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

Checkpoints would be lovely :)

jayitinc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Probably one of my favorites.

ren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

this is awesome. I couldn't get past the pit of spikes after the first leap of faith, but I thought overall this was really impressive. Most creative use of the theme i've seen by far.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26am

really nice idea for the theme - the controls were a little tuff to handle - really great job overall - a few sounds would have been a nice touch too

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:46am

Hard but fun and great way to use the theme.

Also, it's meta game!

praporomsk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:44am

I believe that you did good job, but it was impossible for me to pass the spikes. Sorry...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]