Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Project Brain Damage

by Jay_Santos - Jam Entry

The year is 20x9. In a deep underground base a project is trying to harvest the human's psychic powers, exploring the depths of the human brain for military purposes. Powers such as telekinesis, invisibility, and psychic suggestion are believed to be the ultimate upper hand in situations.

Experiment 42 have suffered several brain surgeries performed by rocket scientists in order to further enhance such powers, making him the ultimate psychihc warrir. But he will have nothing of that anymore and decided to try to escape the base whatever the cost, and using the powers that his captors have given him.

Controls:

WASD move Experiment 42
IJKL fire your weapon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Fun(Jam)3.68
#251Graphics(Jam)3.68
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#644Innovation(Jam)2.39
#713Theme(Jam)2.11
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13am

Cool! Just like Smash TV, but less cheap! I like it!

Tamik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Cool Smash TV style =D I had fun fun, but were you supposed to keep powerups through restarting?

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Nice graphics and very good to play!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

the movement feels really nice! I would change the IJKL scheme for the arrows though. I also think its kinda empty without sounds.... an epic action music would fit so nicely here!

Jay_Santos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

@Rowdy: Thanks! We'll keep working on it, stay tuned!

@ Tamik: Thanks! The power-up thing... That's a "feature", we'll get it fixed :)

@João Cheers :)

@pedro.thiers: The movement was just one of those things that required zero tinkering... I've implemented it and it just clicked, I really like dit too :)

Sounds will be added shortly, they were finished I just didn't had the time to add them.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41am

I'll be coming back to check them out then. It'll make an already fun game much better

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Nice! It was fun.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Nice Arcade! I like the directional shooting system and power ups

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

Smash TVVVVV!!! I like this style of games. I feel like it craves a nice music and sound effects. Sound effects on shooters really make a difference.

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:19am

Can I leave the first room? Wasn't sure if I was just bad, or if that's the whole thing.

Solid SmashTV-type shooter implemented here. Would have loved to see a bit more content, like sound and additional enemy types.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Good fun shooter, but would benefit from sounds!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]