Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubChase

by theplotlessplot - Jam Entry

In SubChase you must avoid hazards (icebergs and bombs) and collect floating ammo crates to stock up on torpedoes and keep the dreaded sea monster away for as long as possible. Also, DON'T RUN OUT OF OXYGEN!

CONTROLS:
Click (or drag) to move your submarine and press the spacebar to fire torpedoes at the monster.

Design/Code: Henrique Sousa (@theplotlessplot)
Art/Animation: Joana Marques (@joanaomarques)

Made with Unity, Pixen and cfxr.

Music by SouljahdeShiva (taken from OpenGameArt.org)


DISCLAIMER:
We've only tested the OS X and web (Chrome, Firefox, Safari) versions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#378Audio(Jam)3.05
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#423Humor(Jam)2.43
#480Fun(Jam)2.79
#563Overall(Jam)2.87
#578Graphics(Jam)2.82
#610Mood(Jam)2.59
#673Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

The game loaded, but the Play or the Credit button do not work :( once a while I would see a blue bar in the background, so the game won't load right now. I haven't rated it yet, hopefully it can be fixed.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

My torpedo's went backwards for some reason xD

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

@tanner101010 I linked to an old build, but it's fixed now! :)

@omgnoseat It's supposed to go backwards. The torpedoes are used to keep the monster away! :P

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

I like the idea. I think the controls could have been a little better, but overall, once you figure it out, a good experience. It could have used an in-game instructions menu somewhere.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34am

Simple and fun! Not sure how the submarine goes so fast though :D

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Cool game! I like how you have to manage obstacles, the monster, and oxygen. I was a little embarrassed when I finally found out how to recharge my oxygen.

valgriz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

This is a pretty good game, a little difficult at first I must say. Nonetheless I like it, nice job!

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

I like the music! There's a nice balance of different threats to balance and keep track of without being too hard.

The game got a lot easier for me when I figured out to keep the mouse button pressed down.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40am

Nice endless runner style game. Punishing difficulty. Especially the big iceberg is tough to avoid. One develops a love/hate relationship with this game kind of like with Flappy Bird.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

82 Seconds. Hard keeping track of ammo, oxy and monster all at once. but hard in a good way.

Players who liked this game also liked "Driller Rush" by seek.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

The randomness sometimes made the first steps impossible when there's be a really deep iceberg and a mine right after the gap. I never seemed to be able to get very far! xD

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

I see a lot of potential in this fairly addictive game :) I had a few issues with the randomness, mainly because the collision was way to "exact" not much give when there were obstacles that were impossible to avoid. Though I liked how the torpedoes kept the Kraken at bay, would have been great to control the direction of those torpedo's

hyr4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very fun and addictive game. Loved to play it :)

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Neat little game, but the controls were a little strange. It might work better with just keyboard controls.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Pretty addictive game, but It would be a lot better if the mines and icebergs would spawn randomly, not always in the same place.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Pretty neat little game. Reminds me of the mini game in Spy Fox. I would suggest having an option for arrow-keys to control the sub, as using the mouse is pretty hard. Also, if you slow down to 0 on the surface, the game basically becomes impossible yet the monster slows down... strange.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Good graphics but the game is really hard... ;-)

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

After I have get used to the controlls, it was a good game with nice graphics and good sound. Thank you.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very entertaining little game! Great job!

kibertoad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Fast and brutal gameplay, nice choice of music. I had fun. Could be a commercial game on android with some work.

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice one! I lack the reaction time to play it well but can it becoming adictive.

TeamKl0n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very nice game. Despite being mechanically simple, it requires one's full attention. Resource management is very important to survive.
Really think this could turn out to be the next 'flappy bird' with a little more polishing.
Great work!

Maniulo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very addictive, and very tightly designed - I like how all the systems work together. Both being below and going over the surface have their advantages, as well as both moving a lot to evade the mines and staying on one line to fight the moster, etc. I didn't like the graphics, but the ambient music was great.

Overall, this is a very strong entry, congratulations!

Hermes says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Go away Cthulhu!
:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]