Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Insane Grandpa

by jahlgren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run around and fight :)

Controls:
Arrows to move
Up Arrow to jump
X or Space to attack
C to use stuff


Can you find a way to open room 667 to see what lies there?

My plan was to have way more content but.... :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Graphics4.42
#50Fun3.88
#96Overall3.82
#115Humor3.41
#204Mood3.49
#273Audio3.22
#583Innovation3.03
#873Theme2.86

Comments

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

It looks very neat and plays like a charm! But I can't see where it fits the contest its theme.

jahlgren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Play through it and you might see how it fits the theme :) In my opinion it fits perfectly :)

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Can't get past room 666, but still very fun! LOVE the graphics!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Quite nimble for a grandpa.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Killing blobs was too hard for me. possibly you got used to it through 48 hours :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Some great looking stuff you got here!

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

It's frustrating to die and die and die again and again.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

What a great game. Perfect example of a simple concept perfect for a game jam. Not too big but great.

It does fit the theme very well ! Tight controls and great artstyle. Best entry I've seen yet.

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

really fun and has a great feel, but the room 666 boss is waaaaay harder than it should be, especially compared to the enemies that came before.

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Just brilliant all round. Great visually, feels nice, and a wonderful take on the theme

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice ending. Great graphics. The range on the cane attack is super short which made it difficult to attack without colliding with the enemy.

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Learning that you can't just move but also jump was a key information. Room 666 was my end nonetheless.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

GREAT graphics and animation!But too hard in 666))

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Pro pixel art game! Very very addictive.

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very hard, while playing (maybe the end makes that different) the theme is not present in any way. You should write that one can jump with the upper arrow.

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I died a lot. I really really love the graphics and animations!! This game was really fun to play!!

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Very inspiring game with such content and such small size. A tad hard and unforgiving, but I like it!

kaiseandev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

The "story" is awesome

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

It was hard, but i won! It's amazing! Cool story, bro

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Super good looking, perfect simple controls, VERY HARD (i like that) and very funny in the end !
Congratulations sir!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nicely animated pixel art, cool theme.
Very hard though, people will get frustrated.

tuben999 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

10/10 love that grandpa

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

The first two rooms were fine, but the ramp up in difficult for room 666 was probably not a good idea without giving the player time to adjust to harder enemies. I did finally get past it. Fun game, nonetheless.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really nice art and smooth animations (exploding grandpa!). It got laggy for me after a few retries in the same room, but it's on me: I shouldn't die that much

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I had my suspicions that the ending would be that way hahahah
but I prefer them in the monster version (i tried to take the pills again but it didn't work lol)
great mini game

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

that's one fast grandpa. cool graphics, although I died a ton.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

"Play through it and you might see how it fits the theme :) In my opinion it fits perfectly :)"

Totally my opinion. Wow, unexpected plot twist. Also really, really awesome pixel art. Room 666 was a bit of a steep learning curve, but I managed :D

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Fantastic! Awesome presentation, graphics are great, sfx fit. Very simple, yet gratifying fighting mechanics, I really enjoyed fighting in room 666! And yes, I think it fits the theme perfectly... that ending!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

First impression: Amazing pixel art, and even the things like the doors opening/closing looks super slick.

Feedback: I didn't realise I could jump at first! (The text at the bottom doesn't specifically say I can.) I died and killed the last enemy at the same time in room 665 and still unlocked the next room (not sure if that's a bug). The boss is HARD, took me possibly 20 attempts to get him killed. It was however, quite satisfying. The end... The end is meaningful. It would have been great if there was some final resolve. That's the only thing it's missing to an otherwise brilliant little experience.

GREAT WORK!

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

Really cool, just the reach is too short

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Fun little game with tight controls and beautiful pixel art. If you actually get through the whole thing, you see how amazingly well it fits the theme. The ending was a little depressing actually. Excellent use of emotion in game.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04pm

The game looks good, it is fun to play and I like the ending. Too bad I can't see back the theme in the game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Didn't get past Satan. Really polished! Not sure what it has to do with the theme, but I'll just assume that's explained in room 667. ;)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Fun game, though I wish your reach was a tiny bit longer. I was still able to see the secret in room 667 with some practice. Dem rocks.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Incredible art, animation and overall look and feel but that difficulty ruined it for me...

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31pm

To understand the theme you must play through the game! The hole style is very charming. I love the pixel art and the gameplay is hard but fair.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:09am

Man... this was GREAT. I literally wondered for a minute if it was from a member of the La-Mulana team, though, LOL. Great, unique characters with good color balance, nice death effects, a really exciting and challenging boss... man, I was so impressed with the quality of every single animation, from the doors swinging, to the jump effect, to the cane strike, to the jumping on the guy in room 666. Having only one HP made it that much more satisfying to finally win, and the challenges were fair, but incrementally more challenging, in every room. Not just that, but I love how Grandpa can jump to slightly break the "panel" of the environment--reminds me of some similar design I've seen in manga, and adds just a bit more excitement.

This is far and away one of my favorite games I've played this jam. Thank you.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Wow, I loved the plot twist! Beatiful and dynamic pixel art too! I didn't find the game too difficult, the boss was just challenging, in a good way. The game was very short thought, but fun! :)

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Loved the graphics and the overall feel of it. Challenging but rewarding at the same time. Well done!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:34am

I wish I could see the plot twist that everyone is talking about, but I just can't for the life of me get past 666.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Got to see the ending. Nice twist! But that boss was really really frustrating. The art is awesome too.

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:20am

Should have had less health on the enemies and possibly knockback when they are hit.

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This was amazing!! I wasn't expecting for that...
Wow... just, wow...

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:49am

I thought it was great overall! 666 was definitely really difficult. Especially since you die in one hit and the monster's reaction time to your proximity was insanely fast. I would be able to sneak in a hit by jumping, and by the time I landed it swipes me to death. XD It's a good game, and great in simplicity, but the difficulty was very high.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:50am

By far my favorite game. Great concept and execution. Would love to see this expanded please :)

Spierek says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:00am

Amazing, this is probably the best game I've played during this LD. Fantastic use of theme and really juicy controls.

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very polished little game with great graphics. Old guy has a tiny range though...

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:07am

Great Game!
Easy, funny, marvelous.
The Theme use was FUN!
Nice to play ^^
(I found the lies ^^)

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:08am

Super sweet animations, nice gameplay too aside from being a bit hard. :)

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Less a difficulty ramp than a brick wall. Couldn't get past 666 which is a shame as I really like the controls and artwork. I just suck at timing based bosses.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

That beast in 666 killed me with tail with so little life.. I had to actually quit the game to spare my poor keyboard from destruction in rage... But I really had fun :-)

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Took me waaay to long to beat Barney, but it was worth it. Dark and memorable!

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

Not feeling the theme, but this is a well done game. Way too difficult, but the pixel art animation is superb. For a very small game it plays rather well. Just too frustrating for me because it's so easy to die.

ActionRemix says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:04am

What a twist!

PS: Give a guy some attack range ;)

May 13, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Wow, awesome game! And great ending :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:53am

Love the graphics, cool enemies too!

mortus says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:19am

Great game! Reminds me of a Blade Runner for NES. Cool controls. Beautiful animations. Amazing oldschool-style boss! Even though there's not much else in the game, I still love it!

Oye Beto says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:26am

Very fun game! I beat it, it was hard but I liked the difficulty :P
Loved the pixel art.
Great job.

jward says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:58am

Awesome job! Hard, but a lot of fun.

What tool did you use to create the pixel art animations?

Managore says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:13pm

What a lovely game, how I wish it were longer! Beautifully done, especially the incredibly smooth graphics and really responsive controls.

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fun, but very difficult. Really requires reaching the end to get the theme. Room 666 seemed to be a bit luck based as occasionally the purple projectiles were inescapable.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Hahaha brilliant twist! Would love to see an extended version of this, the gameplay feels great. Nice work!

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very nice animation, and the feel of the controls is great. I appreciate how polished this. Personal keybinding pet peeve - I don't like using 'up' as jump, another option on the zxcv row would be nice. I never did end up beating the 666 boss - I'd eventually run into him by accident while trying to hit. Single hit death is pretty punishing in this context.

Zccc says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 10:52am

Ahaha loved the ending, and nice boss fight :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]