Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hollow Shell

by Moist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot your way through endless underground chambers full of bloodthirsty undead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#408Fun3.19
#496Graphics3.25
#579Humor2.41
#602Audio2.67
#632Overall3.11
#777Mood2.74
#1040Theme2.51
#1100Innovation2.25

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Really well animated and polished, wish there was more content (other enemies, etc)

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Nice little game. The camera moving when you turn is useful, but feels a bit weird.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Best thing about this was that it feels really good to shoot the gun. The camera shake coupled with the recoil is a really nice touch!

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

It is a nice game but it is hard if they from both sides. I also like the effects of the bullets :)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

A bit simplistic and repetitive. The graphics were nice - coincidence that they are identical to the ones recommended on the juice it or lose it video?

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Awesome game. A bit annoying that it doesn't shoot the direction you are moving. while it does allow you to kite, there isn't much space for it, and they die fast anyway.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

I love the head of the player, he looks great! ;)

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really nice feel to the shooting. Only issue I had was that I couldn't tell how much damage I had taken/could take before I died.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

It seems like there is no ending in this game, it would be nice if it had one or at least had some score that was increasing while playing. The shooting is pretty nice once you understand how it works, the screenshift when you turn left to right is way to quick and caused me to feel a bit sick.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19am

Pretty nice gameplay! Shoot recoil is something I wouldn't expect and it was lovely, including screen shake feedback.
Graphics fit perfectly and its animations gave it a really polished aspect.
Don't really think the theme is there but still, good job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice simple game.

Diamond Crow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

Seems odly similar to the Vlambeer talk on the art of screenshake ;)

Moist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

Thanks for comments, everyone!

As for similarity to the game presented in Vlambeer's talk... wall, I was heavily inspired by it, not gonna deny. :)

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Good game, gets a bit repetitive, I wish there was a goal to play for. Also, the spawning right next to a herd of zombie is impossible to dodge.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Nice! But there wasn't really any variation. It was just shooting the zombies, which isn't very hard. Or did I die too early to notice the new things that come along?

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I like the graphic, nicely polished. The game is simple, and the different room every time you play makes the game less repetitive. But, I don't think you emphasized on the theme pretty much, only stating that the setting is underground, and the gameplay is pretty much plain. So yeah, good job on the game.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Shoot the gun feels well, very well, maybe some levels are too hard (Random generation?)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Game is polished pretty well! Nice job! Graphics are enjoyable to look at and the combat feels very satisfying. The only thing I'd suggest adjusting is how far your gun goes back when shooting, it almost looks like you're turning around! Great job though.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The relative intelligence of the enemies (climbing ladders/jumping) was much appreciated, but overall whether you won or lost depended a lot on the level that was generated, which was frustrating. I think you might have done better with a top-down viewpoint or some kind of extra objective.
Nice touch that if you backed up while shooting you didn't change your aim (though I forgot it a lot).
Decent graphics and SFX too.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:27pm

The way the hald after shot really builds up some tension. Great entry!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I really like the random levels, and how awesome it felt to shoot the gun. I think my biggest frustration was not being able to turn while shooting

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I guess someone saw Vlambeer's "30 Tricks To Make Your Action Game Feel Better" ;)
Nice game.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

The game is simple, yet it's fun to shoot those undead. It got boring though because of the repetitiveness. Good game anyway. :)

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:48pm

The game felt very nice. It felt like the gun actually had an impact. However; I miss a purpose in the game. I got to level 20 or so and it didn't seem like much of a difference to level 1, except bigger. I'd like to see a pre-determined set of levels (not randomly generated) and level 15 or so could be a boss. Then it would be a solid short little game :-)

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I really enjoyed those falling bullet shells :)

copain says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

polish. nice zombi sound. a little easy and repetitive.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I really enjoyed this game. Easy to get into. The camera feels a bit jumpy when you switch sides; a little more easing on it would be nice. Some kind of health indicator for the player would be great too. I found myself wondering how close to dying I was a lot of times. Very cool game though. I really liked this one. Nice work.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Love the details, like the recoil and shell casings. The camera movement it's too quick sometimes

illugion says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

It's great to find someone inspired by vlambeer too ! I really liked the tiles in your game, they look really nice and the recoil really felt good. I like simple arcades like this :D The only big issue i had was with the screen shift when you turn backwards, it was really fast o.o haha

SenorDiablo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really loved the environment art. A very impressively full game. Nice work

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]