Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Overcharged

by foobraco - Jam Entry

Our entry for the Ludum Dare 29 Jam

Avoid the charges shot from the walls, the roof and the floor by flipping charges between the characters and move your top character with your bottom character and collect as much energy as you can!


This was made over the weekend by my girlfriend who made the art and I who coded the whole thing, I wish I had the time to balance more the controls and add some mechanics, but maybe later :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Innovation(Jam)3.83
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#492Graphics(Jam)3.06
#524Theme(Jam)2.83
#546Audio(Jam)2.56
#634Fun(Jam)2.39
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I got to only 30… :D But overall it still was pretty fun trying again and again.

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I don't understand the purpose of this game yet but I like the use of electricity - it's original. Good job.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I don't really understand what I'm meant to be doing and there's no instructions :( It looks like a really cool idea, if only I got what was going on!

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Didn't really understand what to do. Could use some instructions!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Interesting entry.

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Cool idea. It's a bit annoying though that sometimes the electricity just shoots out without any warning, unless I'm missing the signs here :\

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:17pm

The controls are a little bit "weird", but you can get the hung of it. Too bad that I sucked.

ruerob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:26am

Nice idea. It's hard to understand what to do. But once you get it, it makes fun.

foobraco says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:23am

Sorry guys, added instructions in the entry description now, don't know how I missed something that important :/

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:35pm

The controls are a little difficult. Maybe the level design could allow for a difficulty pacing. The use of theme as well integrated as a core mechanic. Very innovative.

The directions could tell you that space is jump! Somehow I didn't try that :D

Could use music a little abrasive audio.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]