Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

2587: Screw You ET

by Holofire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the year 2587, Earth's resources have been drained. Many solutions were discussed, but nobody could give a fuck. After many many minutes of consideration, they have decided to send one man into space to blow shit up. Armed with drills and bombs, Sir Rekt must embark on a journey too SCREW ET!

WSAD / Arrow Keys - Movement
Left Click - Fire Weapon
ENTER - Travel to planet
SPACE - New planet
Walk over drills to activate them!

This game started out very ambitious and the corner cutting can clearly be seen. Its not the best, but its not the worst. I will be doing slight balancing if and bug fixing if something major crops up.

LATEST JAVA 7 VERSION REQUIRED (if not, I am not responsible for any explosions that may happen :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor3.60
#288Graphics3.61
#484Overall3.25
#531Fun3.05
#599Mood2.94
#638Innovation2.94
#715Audio2.47
#1053Theme2.47
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

It was a bit weirdly glitchy for me, but I did in fact like it from what I understood. I got confused because of not clear on how to mine (I guess it was a defend the point deal?), and weird graphical glitches that happened on some planets. Still, it was interesting, to say the least.

Holofire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Fixed some 'typos'.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

Great graphics, and fitting. Pretty cool that you have some character customization to you. Overall gameplay seems a bit too easy, though.

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

kkkkk Best Graphics Ever... Kiddin -- very good game

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Ha, very interesting humor. Got some nice style going on too.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I think I had a bug, Aliens had no HP and I couldn't kill them. Otherwise it's nice :)

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:06pm

The story of Sir 'Rekt', Hehe.
Two things I really enjoyed:
1. Planet generation inclusive cool names!
2. the guns aiming towards aiming point

I couldnt hear any music? I really missed that

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Although I run into some glitches (reloading bar going up all the way to the other side of the screen, preventing the sue of the weapon), I enjoyed it a lot!
The procedurally-generated planets were a nice touch, however, the game was very easy, as I could not find a planet with more than 7 drill sites and 2 waves/spaceships of aliens.
That being said, the game was very pleasant to play. Great job!

meszka says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I liked the planet generation and explosion animation, planets sure take a while to blow up...
The drills are a bit too easy to operate: you can just set them all off at the beginning and forget about them. Could be more interesting if they required more maintenance, e.g. ETs trying to break them.

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The mood was fantastic thanks to the great graphics and the humour. I like that you implemented so many things that make the game fell "complete". The only frustration I had was that the game is indeed easy but avoiding the enemies bullets is so hard. Fantastic job in such a short time nonetheless.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

The idea was cool, but I wasn't sure how it is
related to the theme.
It could be done better, but it's not bad :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]