Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skyboy

by IonProgramming - Jam Entry

Skyboy,

The game starts when your ship falls into a hole the ocean and you find yourself in another world, an inside world beneath the surface.

Your job is to fight your way through the chaos and get help to get back to the outer earth.

Goodluck on your quest!

CONTROLS:
- A & D : Left & Right
- SPACE : Jump
- MOUSE : Aim
- CLICK : Fire

**There are a few glitches with the physics**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#589Fun(Jam)2.53
#603Overall(Jam)2.79
#657Graphics(Jam)2.53
#671Theme(Jam)2.35
#728Innovation(Jam)2.06
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

jmf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Like the music! Unfortunately it kept glitching on me so I couldn't progress very far in it.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Cool game, it's a good idea. Physic is sometimes a little bit fail. Please vote for my game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Some problems on the physics too, but liked the sfx.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

I like the music and the graphics, but the physics are very buggy ! Nice idea however.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

If I find the time and motivation I will fix the physics so we can release a post-compo version.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:03am

Couldnt get past the start screen? windows version...tried clicking and pressing space,ctrl,wasd,and arrows.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great music! Strange physics, but it was still possible to finish the game and only added to the challenge :)

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:15am

Some glitches and very short. I liked the ricochet idea.

Two notes:
- It should be written somewhere that you need to press Enter to get past the start screen.
- The Linux version works fine.

danialhyatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:10pm

nice music!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Great music! Not sure if it really fit the gameplay... but hey, great music!
Also, I loved rocketing as far as I could into the sky by just shooting down. :D

carlmartus says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:12am

Works on my Linux machine

kibertoad says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:02am

Jumping seems broken, it seems to work sometimes at random, but not when I need it. Artwork is good and fits well with the music.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Music rocks! Control felt weird though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]