Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flip Tactics

by Kalabasa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

READ THIS FOR THE RULES!

This is not an orignial idea. Idea from:
Three Hundred : Mechanic #041
http://www.squidi.net/three/entry.php?id=41

This is a multiplayer tactics game. There is no AI. There is no network multiplayer. That's out of scope :(



Pieces:
1. King - sphere. Protect this.
2. Mage - tall & thin. Can flip tiles.
3. Soldier - big. Plain pieces.

Rules:
1. You lose when your King dies.
2. A piece dies if it is outnumbered - the number of neighbor (8-cell neighbors) enemies is one greater than the number of neighbor allies. [enemies > allies + 1]

Movement:
1. The King can move one tile in four directions per turn.
2. Others can move one tile in 8 directions per turn.

To flip tiles, select the Mage, then click the tile it is on.

To deselect, click some other tile.

Sorry for the lack of polish. This was the 2nd attempt at making a game. I wasted about 2/3 of the time trying to implement the other idea I had. haha. this was more of a prototype

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#345Theme3.50
#388Innovation3.31
#812Overall2.92
#818Fun2.73
#958Graphics2.54
#1079Mood2.32
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Overall rather nice.

Only thing I'd say is to have a method for deselecting the mage and for instantly flipping the table over. The click-drag feature is bothersome and gives you really weird angles.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Yeah. Sorry for the lack of polish. This was the 2nd attempt at making a game. I wasted about 2/3 of the time trying to implement the other idea I had. haha.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really cool idea, and fairly well executed in the given timeframe. Even though the idea in theory isn't yours, I could see you taking it somewhere new and making something really unique!

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

A rather nice game! It felt a bit confusing at first and the camera was a bit awkard but aside from that, a fun game.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

It' okay and a cool idea.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great game

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50am

You found a nice concept! Nice interpretation of the theme!

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Good concept!

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

It's quite fun and implemented very well

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Cool idea

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

I like this idea, although I wish there was some form of AI, even if it's rudimentary and makes random moves. Still, nice execution.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:33am

The game idea is good. I like the board flip effect after blue/red takes their turn.

holgk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:36am

New idea. But you can feel that you didn't spend that much time with this attempt.

colludium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nicely put together.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Idea is nice, however it doesn't really feel balanced yet. But that might be a lack of tactics.

Gamepopper says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really neat idea, although the way to move tiles isn't very clear. If I click on a tile it doesn't select the piece I want to move.

Kalabasa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:19am

Are you on Firefox? There's something about Firefox about clicking

Kalabasa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:24am

@Gamepopper That was a bug in Firefox. Click event attributes were incorrect. It is now fixed.

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Good idea!

JoshRespawns says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:36pm

nice

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]