Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Not your Average Mining Emulator

by Ace - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's the entry for Beneath the Surface; Not your Average Mining Emulator, or N.A.M.E. (Naming things is fun)
It's a simple 2d sidescrolling mining game that didn't get anywhere close to done.

The menu controls are hardcoded as:
Arrow Keys, Enter, Escape.

The in-game controls though can be rebound to your hearts content. (Note that joystick buttons/axises are modelled after a 360 controller)
Digging is done by holding dig and pressing the direction you want to dig in, and you can't move while digging.

Note that your inventory can only hold a single type, so you might want to leave your excess in the house that you should find to the left of where you start. (House controls use the standard movement keys as well as the Accept and Cancel binds)


Can you dig all the ores?

(Note that windows version might require the Visual C++ 2013 redistributable which can be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#575Theme3.24
#653Humor2.30
#754Overall2.97
#758Mood2.77
#767Fun2.78
#943Audio1.85
#1056Graphics2.37
#1076Innovation2.31

Comments

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

I enjoyed it. I didn't figure out you could jump with space, until after I got stuck in a 1 block deep hole, for a while.
There's just something about games with resource collection that I like.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

gj

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

program cant start because MSVCR120.dll is missing? aww :(

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

I'm on Linux using the 64 bit version and getting a 3D playing card with a pineapple on it?

I AM CONFUSED.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

High marks for sheer promise - this game really feels like something that could expand well post-compo. Just needs polish and features. I was surprised by that radial menu - very sleek.

Ace says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

@Dreii you need the Visual C++ 2013 redistributable, it's linked in the post.

@eldog That's just the intro screen, if it doesn't run through to the menu try skipping the intro with escape.
There's been a lot of issues apparently with my linux build, never got my hands on anyone willing to test it for me so I just know that it works for me on my Linux machines.

And thanks for the compliments/comments, I'm going to be trying to clean up the code and make it into a more feature complete game later on in the future.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

Could have used some audio... Other than that, a really nice ultra-light-weight Terraria-esque sandbox. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice bits of humor in there :D
The house wheel animation looks very nice.
I couldn't figure out how to dig though.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Looks good, pretty ambitious for a ld48 entry! It took me a while to figure out this game, and there are still things I don't understand. More instructions would help. Sometimes I can dig ore and sometimes I can't, is that a bug or a feature? The player floats through solid rock to ground level when I jump in a tunnel, I assume that's a bug.
I ran this on Linux 64bit, and it works except I don't hear any sound.

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

"Can you dig all the ores?" I don't know but I tried and only gave up after I cleared the first layer and realized how big the stone layer is :D

It's not possible to walk or fall out of the world, but if you build a ladder high enough, the game segfaults (at least under linux it does).

The controls for the menu took a little bit of getting used to and when jumping underground I sometimes bugged through the ceiling all the way up to the surface - which is very useful if you forgot to bring enough ladders (bulding a staircase takes very long). Was fun!

Was there some secret or ending if I had mined all the ores?

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

It was ok. Too bad you didn't get more done in time. It does show what you were aiming for.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:48am

People had problems with my game as well and I just included the dll files to the game folder. Then nobody has to install anything.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

MSVCR120.dll error :(

Ace says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:58am

Right, I reuploaded the build with MSVCR120.dll packaged. Not sure if that's all you need from the runtime though, but hopefully it'll be.

blahoink says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:12am

cant get it to run, dll problems

hnjslater says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Worked fine for me on Linux.x86 (ancient laptop) once I'd set my LD_LIBRARY_PATH correctly. What was there was really slick, I built a ladder and climbed nice and high but segfault city, population me.

Ace says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Right, uploaded yet another build for Windows. This time with more DLLs included, should work better now.

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Wish it was compiled with the XP compatible compiler setting and statically linked C++ runtime :(

May 15, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Probably a better idea to package your game as a .zip instead of a .7z since not everyone has 7zip.

I couldn't seem to craft anything else than saplings or ladders, which made approaching the stone layer very daunting. Planted a nice forest though :D

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:17am

I couldn't understand the controls and unfortunately had to give up on it. It looks like a compo version of Terraria, and I think it has potential.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]