Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Adventures of a little Cleaning Robot

by Slin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game:
"Adventures of a little Cleaning Robot" is about a little cleaning robot working in the river behind the factory that built it. The goal is to keep the waste produced and thrown into the river by the factory from crossing to the grass and trees on the other side of the river for as long as possible.
The game is over when 4 waste blobs reached the trees.

-----------------------------

Controls:
- WASD to turn the robot
- Space to accelerate
- Shift for a short speed boost.

-----------------------------

Broken Rules...:
The game was developed using Rayne, an upcoming game engine currently in closed alpha. Due to this the engine and its source is not publicly available, also I used and tweaked existing shaders and code snippets used from the engines closed repository. I am quite certain that this is against the rules for the 48hrs compo, although I did create everything else from scratch.

-----------------------------

Tools:
- Rayne
- Bullet
- C++
- Blender
- Gimp
- Xcode
- Visual Studio 2013


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#629Humor2.33
#657Innovation2.92
#756Graphics2.85
#835Theme2.92
#931Mood2.56
#948Audio1.83
#1056Overall2.64
#1081Fun2.35

Comments

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I like the interpretation, but the controls are weird - I'd have preferred some mouse usage.
By the way, when I close the game it crashes :D

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Seems very difficult to control and to hit the waste. Controls need to be made much easier or the amount of precision required need to be lowered. Also there seems to be no real reason for why the waste is so hard to detect.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Good use of theme and a good underwater look. Seemed to be a little stuttery which made it difficult to control.

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Wouldn't run. It would show the instructions for a second then crashes.

Windows 8
Yes I extracted it first

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

When I saw the cover image, I though it was the kami sama of DBZ :D

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Controls are awful! - why do we have to control the whole thing left handed? yet, despite this, it's a very cool game! love how the bot thrusts to turn - very KSP, and I lol'd when I noticed the factory made cleaning bots, excellent!

sfdnetwork says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Interesting concept but controls were not good. WASD to move and mouse to move YAW and PITCH would have been much better.

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Promising looking little game :) I'm not sure if this counts as breaking the rules if it's just the engine. It's still within the spirit of the compo at least.

The controls were a little wonky and for some reason I felt the sense of scale seemed off, might have been a fov thing? It crashed on exit.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

3D games are always a fun threat in LD!

broepi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

No linux support :( and not running with Wine for me :(
will retry it on my windows machine soon.

minism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:59am

Cool idea, would have preferred to be able to aim with the mouse though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]