Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Speed Driller

by dj_pale - Jam Entry

Had a very busy weekend, but managed to make a small game. It follows all single compo rules except for time :) Everything was made alone from scratch using Unity3D.

* Simply start the game and click anywhere below the drill to change bearing.
* When not drilling through material (darker = longer time to drill), it will change max 60 degree bearing for each click.
* The level ends when the durability of the drill bit goes to 0 %.
* To get to the next level, you must earn at least $100 per level number (e.g. $300 for level 3).
* The levels are "infinite" with increasing speed and "density".

** PLEASE POST LEVELS AND HIGHSCORES IF YOU PLAY IT **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#281Theme(Jam)3.33
#485Innovation(Jam)2.74
#604Fun(Jam)2.48
#642Audio(Jam)1.77
#664Overall(Jam)2.59
#712Mood(Jam)2.09
#745Graphics(Jam)2.04

Comments

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

There are some small issues with the bearing when clicking extreme angles, and the Web Player have a harder time adjusting "straight" bearings :/ It is not a showstopper so it should be playable...

Also, you might need to press keys 2 times when starting the games :P

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

It got a little repetitive feeling around level 5, might help to make the increase in difficulty more extreme. Levels 1-5 I was able to make $1500-$2000 each with ease. It's super hard (impossible?) to return the drill to a straight direction once you turn.

With some polish and audio this could be a cool little game, good work :)

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I like this idea a lot. It's got this kind of quick diving to get to diamonds vs going slow to get points strategy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

The basic concept is ok, I feel like its a bit easy. Adding some more gameplay elements would be cool too. Otherwise its not bad!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The fact that you can only turn 60 degrees at a time can easily by countered by clicking more times. The difficulty increase way to slowly. Stopped at level 4 after suiciding in all previous levels.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nat anything to complain about. Getting around 1200-1500 every level, but it's a bit repetitive.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really liked the idea, I just wished I had something to spend my money on, and maybe some more variety between levels/depths.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:26am

Great game! You should add an option to upgrade/speed up the drill though. Maybe by using the money earned by drilling?

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:13am

Neat little game, but you can get an infinitely high score. Just drill into the sky! :D

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:09am

With that glitch in mind, I think I got the high score:
http://i.imgur.com/70ItBO6.png

:P

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:27pm

It is a little on the easy side, but not bad at all.

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice game, but a little too slow. The first levels should be much shorter. Stopped at level 5 because the challenge was missing.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Simple mechanics and clear objective, cool game. It's missing some music!! Also some hazards, you can't just lie on the durability of the driller.

brodavi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hmm I can't seem to play the game. It says press any key to start, but I hit lots of different keys, clicked everywhere, but nothing starts the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]