Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eskimo Run

by Custard Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run! The notorious Pepsi consultant is trying to sponsor the development of your Ludum Dare game. Who knows what he'll make you do.

Avoid obstacles to keep your speed up, and make sure he doesn't catch up with you. Dodge walls, spikes and fish to get to the end in the shortest time possible. You can either run on land, or dive into the water. There are generally less obstacles in the water, but you move at a slower speed, and have a limited amount of air.

Controls:
----------------
(Above Water)
| Up - Jump
| Down - Dive

(Under Water)
| Up - Surface
| Down - Swim Deeper


NOTE: The game is not well optimized. Please use the lower quality version if you have a slower computer. This removes all particle effects, water effects, clouds etc so the graphics won't be as good as normal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#104Humor3.47
#211Graphics3.76
#322Fun3.31
#388Overall3.34
#408Theme3.43
#457Mood3.10
#497Audio2.87
#706Innovation2.86

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57am

Great twist on theme (and platformers), also like that you went for the secret theme :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Some humor!
Funny and I like meta games...

The little eskimo is real well done too.

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

He should be able to throw MtnDew bottles at the player to slow him down.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Great, arrow keys are supported! :D
But widescreen only. :(

After a dozen seconds or so, the game becomes choppy and unplayable. Tis a shame, this looked like it could have been fun to play.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06am

First funny/humor game I've seen so far, and it has some nice mechanics.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Pppppppepsi consultant!

Dddddouble theme!

Ttttwo levels in one?

Very cool. Would sponsor.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Nice graphics and outstanding music. Good job

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Pretty solid game, performance issues aside. It seemed easier to just NOT go under the ice though...

feyleaf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Very smooth running, and a bit of a challenge. There ought to be more games with this guy as the villain! Outstanding idea!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Brrrrr.... looks like cold water

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

This game is super funny and cute. Great humor.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Also needs more Pepsi branding on loss. Big splash screen.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

I really like the graphics.

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

Good idea with the above and below surface choice, but it seemed for the most part it was easier to just stay on the surface. I think a couple of sections should have required diving more. Good challenge though, it took a good few tries to beat the last level :D

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice game, a bit lag on a few sections and a bit trapheavy towards the end. Quite well put together.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Good game ! Really like your graphics !
Awesome work, keep it up (:

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I just get a blank screen on OSX :(

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

I like the idea with switching between above/below but I have some terrible performance issues (on both normal and lower version) to the point it was almost unplayable after few seconds

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28am

This game offended me.

nonentheless says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:35am

Ok, I beat it this time. I assure you my computer is rather powerfull so it's strange it didn't work earlier, but nevermind. I had one issue this time, on third level once or twice red fish spawned above the ground. Also did you consider allowing player to move a little left and right to let him control the jump length? Raising your overall and fun after the fix ;)

May 2, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice game!

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The game has a really addictive vibe. The level design could be a bit improved, but I really enjoyed the game. Also I liked the characters (the player and the evil guy).

ActionRemix says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:12am

Smashing through the ice looks awesome!

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:26am

Great job overall. The difficulty was a little bit much and while I adored the red fish initially ... it came back to block what may have been a successful me once or twice.

Loved the graphics overall but they could use a unifying look (anti-aliased/pixelated).

I got addicted to it so that's a good thing.. I think.

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I like how the theme is integrated with the mechanic. Going under the water was a nice twist on a standard runner (although I usually just ended up getting myself killed when I went underwater, those fish are tricky!) The difficulty ramp-up is pretty intense, if you keep working on this, some intermediate difficulty levels would help with this. Nice work!

May 9, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Pepsi consultant oh my god you win I can't even

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice take on the theme + bonus theme.

Gamepopper says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Really nice Endless runner, I like the two layer aspect of it. Really needs a score instead of levels though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]