Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blue waves

by dector - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just relax and everything will be ok

Controls:

Mouse - Aim, make photo
+/- - Music volume up/down
M - Mute music
F - Toggle fullscreen
R - (on menu) enter in relax mode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Mood3.71
#174Audio3.44
#414Innovation3.27
#465Theme3.36
#517Overall3.21
#536Humor2.46
#798Fun2.75
#852Graphics2.69

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Super chill. :) Great work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Solid entry ! Congrats !

robopossum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very relaxing, and has a slight challenge to it. With some improved graphics it could be a very nice game. Good entry

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I like the atmosphere, it's definitely very soothing. Pretty unique gameplay concept and some clever challenges with the different fish combinations.

Relax mode would make a great screen saver!

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Fun idea. Also, i like the bubbles :D

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Thanks all for nice response. This entry isn't complete game as is but for me it was very relaxing to make this stuff. Especially first in-game music attempts. :)

Good luck all and peace! ☮

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very nice entry, very different from all other. Wish there were more of it, I liked it a lot!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

I feel relaxed. Thank you very much.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I think this is the type of games a kid would love to play. Easy to master, colorful and with plenty of things to see.

czery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

A little short but generally well thought out and executed. :)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The Java JAR file “blue_waves.jar” could not be launched.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: io/github/dector/ld29/DesktopLauncher : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

@Gwinnell

Thank you for report! Jar updated.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:13am

very sweet concept I like your idea

atterday says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49am

Nice and relaxing game. It would be cool if you only had a limited number of shots available to get the pictures. And good to see some support for Ukraine :-).

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:35am

Tank you very much!

Дуже дякую! :)

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36am

Duzhe dyakuyu! :)

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I really enjoyed this one.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Great mood, strong simple concept, nice music. Well done!

pinion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Liked it, kind of like a fishing game without hurting the fish!

Also interesting to see there is a java port of flixel that I didn't know about.

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I have already ported this to flash (with haxe), but it has some small issues :(

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nicely done and very relaxing. Thanks.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:15am

pretty darn ambient, the photography mechanic felt a little off at times but it was definitely an interesting jaunt. Good job mate :).

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:43am

This is great, especially when the Relax part came. Nice job.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great mood you set there, I recommend everyone to play this...

Agecaf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:28pm

The music suits very nicely the pace of the game, well done!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:37am

Lovely music!

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Relaxing, good atmosphere!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Very nice music and mood! Good job :)

Artylo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Really cool game, reminds me of "Pokemon Snap". Music is rally relaxing.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Very interesting \o\

Chronoberry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:43am

Actually very relaxing. Awesome job!

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:07pm

We need more games with a relax mode! :D Well done!

MaesK says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great game, original mechanic with nice relaxing music. Good gameplay, but it ends fast, right when things started to get complicated :D

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Interactive aquarium, I like! Simple and soothing, takes me back to when lil' kid frogcheese got an aquarium of his own.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:36am

Cool game! Nice music. A little sound effect for when you snap a picture would have been a satisfying addition.

frankd0331 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:07am

Relaxing with interesting gameplay, good work.

KeyMaster says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really nice entry! Nice relaxing mood. I also liked the messages saying what you did right/wrong, nice how they changed every time!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]