Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Au dela

by Simon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Better played on Chrome I think) Thanks in advance for playing and voting! It's a straightforward top down shooter in which the enemy is more convenient than anything (the theme interpretation lies here. The enemy might not be one in fact). The game has two endings (kinda). Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#555Innovation3.07
#592Audio2.70
#702Mood2.84
#830Humor2.05
#832Fun2.71
#895Overall2.83
#1023Graphics2.44
#1112Theme2.33

Comments

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I get the double message ;)

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I really enjoyed playing this.
Good job!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:49am

I like the non-obvious way in which you interpreted the theme. Also, nice clean graphical style!

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31am

The gameplay is not very intuitive but fun to play. The two endings and theme interpretation are clever. Simple but efficient graphics and sounds. Very good entry :)

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Thanks a lot everyone!
I'm not a big fan of this game but I'm really happy that you could find something meaningful/fun or anything in there. Thanks for your votes and feedback. I really appreciate it.

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Interesting game. The controls were very frustrating, though.

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

@jellymann Can you tell me more about those controls? How were they frustrating? Are they too slow, buggy or anything? Thank you!

Meedoc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice weird game! Love the mood :)

May 1, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice concept! It's easy to release the thing but really hard to kill it!

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Interesting concept but I found it quite hard to grasp and kill the thing. Would have loved another level too. Nice work :)

Spotline says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

It was quite hard to get the kill ending :O I really like the slow/fast bullet choice, they are both useful and complementary to kill the thing. The alternative ending is nice, but maybe too easy once you've understood. If there was more steps or more challenge in it, maybe i would've felt more like I achieved something.
En tout cas bravo c est chouette !

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Great that you haven't tried to make it too long. Quite lovely game! :)

May 2, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Interesting game. You made me go after my mouse, as this was not optimal for my mousepad XD

Good job!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21pm

A quite mysterious and experimental game, the slow bullets feels weird. I love the sound and music. The beast reminds me of the chomps in the mario games :)

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:19am

I'm not so sure what to do. The game looks interesting though and the music is cool. Some info on what to do would be nice :)

mrbungle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Cool game but unfortunately I kept moving outside the edges of the level.

Simon says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:52am

Again thank you everyone for your feedbacks! I'm fully aware that the thing is quite hard to kill and it shouldn't be so (initially the thing was supposed to collide with walls making it easier to kill it but it was buggy). Anyway thank you for playing and voting :)

Mase says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:00am

It's easy to become disoriented & lose the avatar when it is outside of the screen.

The fast and slow bullets are interesting, but just rapidly firing slow bullets in the creature's path is more effective than taking the time to power up.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]