Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DEEP SEA FREEDIVER

by alwaysinbeta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dive beneath the surface of the ocean to gather treasure then sail off into the sunset!

Use arrow keys or WASD to play.

Made with the Phaser game engine, SublimeText, Photoshop, Sfxr, Audacity and Wolfram Tones.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#78Audio3.70
#138Fun3.62
#138Overall3.71
#176Mood3.54
#249Theme3.62
#260Humor2.96
#263Graphics3.65
#562Innovation3.06

Comments

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19am

Haha, it is fun~

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58am

I like it. Simple but fun! Also catchy tune.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I did a whole try with just catching fish... couldn't catch'em all though. :3
This was fun btw, good graphics too!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I like the speed of the game. Also, I really like the way this game looks and sounds! (I'm a sucker for pixels)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

HAHAHA FUNNY

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

I won!
Ridiculously fun! :)
Very well executed. I loved the graphics and the catchy music tune was pretty good.
A kiss a the end from my girl would have been great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Haha I liked when the player dove in the sea. That surprised me.
PS : I totally suck at that game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Feels very polished with nice visuals and audio, good job! ^^

jotson says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Solid entry, dig the music and art. And your source code is so much more organized than mine. :-)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Ah I can't believe I failed at 19/20. Neat little game, nice presentation.

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:42am

It's a fun game. I thought the movement was a bit slippery, but anyway I got 20/20! Whooo!

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:21am

I like that this is essentially the same idea and engine as my game, except that this is under water while mine is under ground. Pretty fun! That lady is *demanding*

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Sounds and Visuals are great.

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:34am

Solid, polished entry. Nice graphics, effects and music. Liked the parallax as well, though I find it confusing when going up.

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:44am

Nice job. It reminds me of the game "ridiculous fishing"...

Sodaware says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Simple, but well executed and fun.

First time around I got killed by fish. Second time my guy flew out of the water at the end and hit the top of the screen, so he could never deliver his goods :(

But after that I got much better at it. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:58pm

great fun and the music was great - nice job

snooze82 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:05pm

nice :) simple and fun!

local minimum says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really fun and well made game. On second try I actually won.

A graphics, computing thing: When going up from the bottom, the bubbles move faster where they really should go slower since the diver is going in the same direction as the bubbles.

Of course, it would have been interesting to have a oxygen meter and more creatures, jellies doing more of a vertical swim as an example.

But really, as an arcade type of game the most needed feature would be more levels I suppose. I would opt for the girl doing the second dive to not just have her standing there as some trophy, but to sum up I really enjoyed the game. Nice entry.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:11pm

that was fun, like the pixel art as well :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]