Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

When Mutant Cells Attack Melons!

by shubshub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thats all I Could think to add to the Game
Its not Much and it was Made in Less than 5 Hours

Controls
- W,A,S,D: Movement
- Left Click: Action (Shoot and Click Buttons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#919Audio1.93
#989Overall2.72
#1112Fun2.29
#1115Graphics2.24
#1140Theme2.25
#1201Innovation2.00
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

It was a decent start to a top down shooter, but I felt the bullets moved way too slowly for the speed of the onslaught of enemies. It almost felt like I didn't have enough bullets to handle all the enemies coming my way. Breaking up the enemies into waves would also help to avoid the frantic rush for the shop button. Solid start.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

This needs some more tweaking, but the basics for a top down shooter is there.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11am

Was an ok game, it felt like it needed a bit more though. Probably more enemies, more attacks, or some music perhaps?

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

Cool game. Perhaps the upgrades could have been a little more pertinent. Why upgrade bullets if the enemy only takes one hit to kill (did you plan on bigger baddies?). What is the radius upgrade? To the ship? The bullet range?

Regardless, a nice game! Good job!

shubshub says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

The Enemies do get stronger as you kill more not sure if it actually works in the final code though :P

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It's like asteroids but the enemies are following you! I found it to be quite challenging. The pop-ups at the end (when you die) are a little bit annoying, but I can get over that. It was an overall fun experience.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

As soon as I realised I could access the sop and change my stats the game had a whole new layer to it :)

shubshub says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Lol

May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Had a few glitches but good game over all. I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice game for 5 hour effort, although it needs a bit of polishing. I laughed with the story button :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]