Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Introspectrum

by solkar - Jam Entry

Beneath the threshold that divides conscient and subconscient lays a whole new world with different planes and strange characters that are all part of yourself. This is the world that Introspectrum explores.

Note about Android version: The game is designed for 1024x768 so if you have a smaller device you might find it difficult to play.

========Post-compo updates========

[v1.1] improved controls and some graphic aspecs, fixed missing library problem

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#143Graphics(Jam)4.00
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08
#379Mood(Jam)3.05
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#503Humor(Jam)2.24
#633Overall(Jam)2.71
#699Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Some very nice quotes and character design. Wish you could move around a bit faster.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice graphics and nice quotes, but the movement is rather difficult on a high-resolution device. It takes many taps on a field to move the character one square.

negative points: menu button is displayed but doesn't do anything and the back button seems to be blocked :(

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Thanks for your feedback. Yeah, the controls need a major rework. It's my first priority for the after-jam version.

About the menu: you mean that the menu is not animated at all, right? Where do you see a back button? I can't remember adding any, but maybe then I was already too tired. Hahaha

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

"cant run because MSVCP120D.dll is missing"

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice graphics but it's quite frustrating to click every time for each step. :/
Sound (even simple one) would be great too!

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice graphical style. As the others said, the character moves a bit slow. Also I managed to get of the path once. It was like if the graphics and the collision of the level where offset by one row. But it fixed itself after a level change.

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I like the graphics. Unfortunately I was unable to to anything but move the guy around (very slowly).

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

I feel like there's an interesting game here, but like others have said, the movement makes it pretty hard to get into.

solkar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38am

Seems clear that I must update the controls. I'll be back soon with an update.

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:00am

I have updated the controls. Now it's much easier to walk around.

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32pm

that was interesting experience
I'm sending it to my shrink ^^

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I like the psychological theme. Moving around is annoying.

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

nice artwork, good concept. would love to see it taken to its fullest.

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:56pm

@Danvil, how would you improve the controls?

flavio says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:07am

Arrow keys maybe ? Even if it's moving in diagonal, a convention could be fine like down = down left, left = down right, up = up left and left = up left ?
Or clicking somewhere he could go on his diagonal may move him n times untill the place you clicked ?

(BTW, our game works on Mavericks now :) )

solkar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:07am

@flavio, I implemented something like that. It's available in the post compo. Not the keyboard though.

solkar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:27pm

@Danvil, how would you improve the controls?

May 2, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The graphics are great! but the controls are not... make it playable with keyboard

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Too bad this doesn't have audio, that would help to set the mood. If I was playing this on a table, I would like to have to press just to make the man move. Still enjoyed it.

May 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I cant play your game because I have a windows 8. Sorry. :/

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:42am

I liked the graphics a lot. Movement was very annoying.

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:07am

The controls were too frustrating on my Android. It'd be nice they were explained somewhere. I assumed to tap where you wanted to move, but moving one square is very annoying. Maybe if you just tapped in the top right to move diagonally upwards it'd work better.

I couldn't get very far in it because of the dodgy control and bugginess. :/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]