Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mars

by DeathBread - Jam Entry

WARNING: This game is by no means complete and it still has a lot of bugs and a lack of functionality. We only recommend playing this game if you want to laugh a little :D

We didn't really finish this "game", and we don't expect anyone to really play it, but at least we tried to make a game and learned a lot by doing so :) Participating in the LD29 was so much fun! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Humor(Jam)2.38
#521Fun(Jam)2.72
#529Innovation(Jam)2.67
#548Graphics(Jam)2.89
#615Overall(Jam)2.75
#647Mood(Jam)2.47
#684Theme(Jam)2.29
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Awesome Job!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Bummer I can't play!

flatgub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Shame there's no windows port because this looks interesting... =(

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39am

App just doesn't start (Mavericks) :(

DeathBread says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Sorry guys, dropbox somehow screwed the file up, but it should be working now.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Looks cool. shame I can't play it. :(

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Looks like it could be interesting.

Gallefray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Can't play it due to me being on a linux platform :(

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Controls alright, but I am not sure where it was going...Build times are ridiculously slow, and I encountered no enemies. I'd recommend for LD games to speed up things a little and get games to be playable inside of 10 minutes :) Other than that I can see it being taken somewhere.

Worked fine in Mavericks for me on a 2010 Macbook Pro.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:07am

Shame I can't enjoy this, this looks really, really polished!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice start. I found two bugs. The game crashes when I dismiss a soldier or when I send him where he already is. Interestingly I tried to make a somewhat similar game and it's also far from finished. But mine is more a simulation than a RTS.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:29am

Looks like a solid start. The game plays a bit slow and I could not find anything on the "map". I would have liked to be able to zoom out. You really should continue this one.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Interesting choice, and I bet you learnt lots doing this. There didn't really seem to be any goals in the game, so I decided to build and upgrade mines until I raked in so much cash that I could continue building without stopping. And by that point, boy was I rolling in it! As you said, it's not much "game" in it, but I had fun for a short while. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]