Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Metal Meter Madness

by mrspeaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ARROWS/WSAD: move. HOLD SPACE: dig. PRESS SPACE: get beer.

Run around combing the beach. If your metal meter finds something... you'll hear it.
Dig dig dig.
Eventually you may find cash cash money.

It's thirsty work, so be sure to purchase $1-beer at regular intervals. Clear the whole beach, your work is done.

----

Rather than ramping up difficulty, the first level (like all levels) is very very hard.
Some levels will trap you and will be impossible to finish. You will die angry and penniless... this is a metaphor for the life by the sea, not a bug.

"That's me on the beachside, combing the sand, metal meter in my hand, sporting a pocket full of change".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Humor3.79
#65Audio3.76
#69Fun3.82
#137Theme3.79
#163Mood3.57
#240Overall3.53
#270Innovation3.49
#375Graphics3.44
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Was a fun and addictive game, audio helped a lot to make the mood, and a few good laughs. Liked the different managed options. Though who really would go do this all day if all you get is like, $10-30? Still, enjoyable~

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very cool, I liked the overall mechanics of the game, and the audio was fantastic (you got 5 stars for that!) I found a small bug when I spawned inside some beach goers and couldn't move..

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I like it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Funny game. Once main hero appeared between two girls but can move - luky choise :D.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Great music. And fun game.

I would have liked the first time to say something like "DIG = Space" or so and "BUY = Space".
I would also have liked the patrol to randomly start with a safe distance and to have rounded corners on the beachers colliders so I didn't get stuck as much.

Then I might have gotten really stuck.

It also feels like the score maybe shouldn't be just money but intoxication * money or something. Or just sunburn. In fact that would be cool. Have the dude remove shirt after some drinks to increase burn and anger of patrol.

gre says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Very fun production, where do you find your ideas man? always awesome.
The game match the theme and have a good atmosphere.

The guy following you is really annoying lol, it is especially hard to dig/take beer when he is quite close (maybe you should stop the game at that moment?) but it is still ok as part of the game difficulty.
One thing I would have liked is to know my game over score.

Otherwise, the graphics and the colors are well polished, the music fits well with the game.

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Your game is hilarious fun. The premise is simple, but engaging. It's fun scowering the beach looking for cash.

The sound effects are hilarious. CASH CASH MONAY

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Haha nice game, I really enjoyed it (despite the level generation that can be unforgiving). Nice art and animations

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The metaphore hit me strong and hard.
I was unable to shake off the man, and when I succeeded, I got too thirsty

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Haha, nice concept! Music was kind of repetitive, but I like it overall!
I found a bug, where sometimes you start a level on top of someone sunbathing and you can't move. Nice job though!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I really enjoyed it, even though its very difficult. Reminds me of a classic arcade or 8-bit game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Pretty neato, The life guard was annoying to escape, but I liked the gameplay. Audio was nice too. Cool game!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Really like the risk reward system, and I found myself constantly asking "Do I dig this up? Do I get a beer? Do I run from the security guy?" It makes for very engaged and fast paced (and fun) gameplay!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

Hilarious and fun. Like you mentioned, there are some spawning issues, but the sound and graphics are great. It also makes me want a beer, haha!

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

If only I could come back at night when the surf patrol had gone home. Nice work overall.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Real fun and easy to get.
Like the premise too.

Good job.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Haha cool concept, the sfx are really nice too! Good work! :p

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Your metaphor is mean.

I like the game but I'd have liked it to be easier to restart rather than clicking, just press space or something keyboard based.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

The surf patrol directly homes on me and is super hard to avoid. So I play like 5s, then have to go through the 5s intro again. Not enjoyable!

I don't play games to get served a metaphor on the unfairness of life!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

simple, but fun and addictive. sound, music and graphics fit perfectly. loved it!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Well done. Graphics were sound, sound effects went well with game, nice and straight forward. Only thing that would be nice is to have the controls listed on the web page too, took me a bit to realize I had to actually dig until I came back here and re-read the instructions.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very cool, loved the style and the audio really added heaps to the experience. I found the difficulty was a little high depending largely on how the level was generated, maybe some initial safeguards could help that? The patrol was too fast, and occasionally you'd get spawn in between beach-goers.

That has certainly been one of the more enjoyable titles for me though :)

Kate Kligman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Enjoyed the retro feel to the game. The level generation is sometimes difficult but the game is still fun. Good adaptation of the theme.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I like it a lot its a good game

psychonull says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:43am

Liked how the graphics, audio and mood are tied together to produce a fun experience. Got trapped a couple of times because of the level generation, but solid and polished entry overall.

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:49pm

This is a lot of fun! I love your use of the surf patrol and sun-bathers to force the player to keep an eye on their surroundings. The audio is fun too.

May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Nice graphics, fun game. I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]