Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worm Simulator 2012

by HBurd - Jam Entry

*Edit: added a mac version, though I can't test it so it likely won't work. Let me know if you try it.

Prepare yourself for the most realistic, state of the art worm simulator ever made!

Actually, we didn't get anywhere near to finishing this game. On Saturday, when loading the level for the first time the game was running at 5 fps, so Sunday was wasted rebuilding everything from scratch :(

The core mechanics:
You are a worm.
You can only move through peristalsis (google it).
Point your head with the arrow keys, press space to start inching forward from the back, one segment at a time.
You can't move through rocks.
You can eat dirt, and poop out clay.
You can also eat clay (eww).
For every 15 blocks of dirt you eat, you will grow longer.
You will fall if you don't have a solid block under you.

This was going to be a puzzle platformer, but sadly, because of the technical issues, there's no time to make a level editor (let alone design a level).

Why is it 2012 you ask? You'll see when we're done...
(spoiler: apocalypse)

Art by Hugh Rawling, coding by Hugo Burd.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#434Innovation(Jam)2.86
#589Graphics(Jam)2.79
#618Audio(Jam)2.06
#634Fun(Jam)2.39
#666Overall(Jam)2.58
#674Mood(Jam)2.33
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

It was my first idea,,, cool game..

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

that worm sprite...

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

Your game name is pretty much an exact copy of my entry... what are the odds...

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

Too bad you didn't get the puzzle element done there could have been some interesting mechanics/levels.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

@MarsBar: Heh, sorry about that, I guess I should have checked or something. Great work on yours by the way.

@thenmal: Yeah definitely, I'm planning on continuing to work on this for a bit until it's actually a game

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

So... it's like a metaphor for life? Eat and poop until eventually you die. Pretty bleak. Congrats on finishing, though. I bet you could build this into a puzzle game or even a worm RPG. Think about it.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

@Cambrian_Man: Thanks! My plans are to add a bunch more things to simulate so controlling the worm is as difficult and convoluted as possible, and then maybe make it some sort of sandbox rpg.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Good to finally have a worm simulator.
Cool and unusual.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54am

The game's not bad, the graphics could be a little better though

Wakka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20am

funny idea

Deozaan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22am

Game won't run for me. Here's the error I get:

java -Djava.library.path="natives/" -jar wormsim2012.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld48_gl/MainLoop : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
Could not find the main class: ld48_gl.MainLoop. Program will exit.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

Of all the simulators.... XD

Why is it Worm Simulator >>2012<< though?

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@Deozaan: Thanks for letting me know, I can probably fix this.

@Diptoman: Our end goal was to have the worm burst out in the middle of Manhatten, turning out to be gigantic and starting an apocalypse.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

You'll get that error if you have an older JDK version. I could recompile for an older version, but honestly I'm feeling kind of lazy, I'm about to restart the game in C anyway.

MarsBar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23am

Heh, it's neither here nor there, it just means great minds think alike :)
thanks for checking out my game btw, I really like your art style, unfortunately I couldn't seem to get it to run :(

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:12am

Great start, could be a really fun game but sadly no real goal or challange.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:27am

This game is entertaining and does a good job of replicating the movement of worms. It would be even better with other insects or some moving objects in the background. Brilliant entry to this ludum dare and matches the theme well

peterlavey says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:15pm

That you were the graphics good, makes nothing out of place

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]