Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Up!

by eriksundqvist - Jam Entry

Dig Up! is a game about digging down until you finally dig up.

Control:
WASD/Arrowkeys - Navigate and direct drill
Space - Activate drill
E - Interact with shop and fuel pump
P - Pause the game

THE MISSING DLL ERROR HAS BEEN FIXED!
Remember to buy a propeller in the beginning of the game or you'll quickly get trapped.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#133Theme(Jam)3.65
#174Overall(Jam)3.52
#246Fun(Jam)3.22
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#379Audio(Jam)3.04
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#479Mood(Jam)2.87

Comments

whendricso says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Missing DLL exception - unplayable no rating :(

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

This was a nice little sandboxer. I liked the graphics and the animations of the tank. I drilled around for a while, but couldn't find any gold, though... :(

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Very good. Had fun digging. Although I would have liked to digg through to the top. :)

Digging to the top did not work in general. And the combination of direction+space to start digging felt strange. Would have liked to start the drill always when pressing space, even when not moving.

I like these kind of games. You always wonder what's burried there behind the next block of earth.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Sorry, I also couldn't get the DLL thing D:!

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

It looks really cool from the screenshots, but I'm missing MSVCP120.dll :(

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

Oh man you nailed that compulsion loop. I could see myself spending hours and hours watching that little robot grind away at the earth!

I was confused at first because I didn't buy the flight upgrade before digging downward and then I got stuck and had to restart.

eriksundqvist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

Some minor bugs fixed.

DarkUser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Space bar is not doing anything, cant dig

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very interesting game! Seens very unfinished, however.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I enjoyed every second of playing this.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I am free! Yay! Liked the upgrade system, nice work!

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Looks great, and a nice production.

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:37pm

This was good, I liked the minecraft elements while being a totally different game :) Nice pixels. I found some mineral (silver or iron I guess) but ran out of fuel trying to get back up - doh!

MattV says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:49pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b97zJxKEqAk

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Overall, excellent little game! I spend like 20 minutes upgrading and playing around, well done. The music loops nicely as well!

Cezel_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Thats was incredibly fun, the graphics and audio were great as well. Had a blast playing it!

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I like this kind of digging game! But there's something missing here, I don't know, maybe more diversity...? Would had love to find more materials, maybe treasure, and sometimes I found caves, but there's just nothing special in it :/
And more cool bad ass stuff in the store perhaps? Like something that just explode the blocks, bombs, lasers, you name it.
And I couldn't find a way to restart. Behind stuck down there is a little harsh don't you think. Maybe restart from the shop while losing our cargo would be better?
Still, good music, nice graphics, that's a good work you've done there!

Statman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I got lost in my gallery and I don't find gold ! Nice graphics and it is a interesting game.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:27pm

A great game, although I got bored after ~30 minutes of playing and not having even half the money required to dig up.I guess I am just bad at it :p
Other than that, the game feels good to play, control works well, and the digging sound is very satisfying. Good job!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Simply fantastic.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

This game stole 76 minutes of my life just to describe to me the definition of anticlimactic. It was fun but it needs a better ending. PLEASE

DavidErosa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Not the kind of game I like to play, but it's really well done. NIce music, and the controls are solid.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]