Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Let's Get Digging

by rogberth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT II: I fixed the falling bug in level 1. You are supposed to dig down.

Ok, so I fixed all the important bugs just in time: now you can see all the levels and the enemies.

Game is an old fashioned game and very simple. Try to dig down levels without dying. The hard part is to dig: main weapon (press X) mines the stone, special weapon (X + down) digs the earth.

There are 3 heroes in the game: the miner, the farmer and the magician. Try the all! (careful with the farmer, its easy to get stuck if you dig to much)

Started the game the last day, so I didn't have much time to put the things I wanted like an actual shop were you can buy upgrades and stuff.

Hope you enjoy it and sorry if it's too hard, couldn't calibrate it since I've uploaded it 2 mins before the limit haha.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Theme3.69
#395Humor2.68
#420Mood3.14
#482Graphics3.27
#658Overall3.08
#719Innovation2.84
#838Audio2.19
#899Fun2.62
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Once I grasped the mechanics, I thought it was a cool idea. It just seems really hard, also I couldn't seem to break the grey stone.

rogberth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

The grey stone is broken with the normal attack. I know this is kind of ridiculous (specially for the farmer) but I think it gives the game a certain strategic point of view on where you dig so you can later mine the stone depending on the parabolic curve of your main weapon.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Love this graphic style, took me back to the glory days of the ZX Spectrum which I assume was the look you were going for!
The wizard's walk animation was great. Overall a fun game though you're right, it is very hard.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07am

Ah, a nostalgic trip to the good old days of gaming! One thing i miss though is a little effect to indicate you've taken damage. Really like the selection in characters to play with!

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice! I like the character variety, it is quite difficult like you mentioned.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very nostalgic. Good use of a limited palette in the graphics. Enjoyed it!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58am

Nice speccy graphics :D, I really like how the game plays with different characters

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Cool graphical style, but seems pretty difficult. Could you jump? I seemed to get stuck pretty easily

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14am

nice artwork!!!

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:09am

There was a lag in the moving due to the key repeat, flash can be weird like that, you may want to check your render loop to get the motion a bit smoother, besides that the characters and their attacks were very nice looking.

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Good stuff! As a player, I wanted to queue up multiple 'special weapons'.

Almost says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:33am

I played as the miner. I dug straight down with bombs but then found it very awkward to have to throw my pickaxe upward and away from me instead of downward in order to dick the rocks.

Additionally, if I try to widen my hole while standing on the stone layer, my bomb doesn't destroy enough vertically for me to throw an axe in the widened part without it hitting the dirt above.

After a few deaths I basically ragequit.

rogberth says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Sorry! I didn't have time to balance the game, so it's hard and even stupid some times.

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:41pm

the combat/arena part is kind of entertaining, but overall it's super difficult and frustrating. it's a digging game where your main character is terrible at digging.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]