Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Meddle

by Pitzik4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game about a guy named Meddler who can reprogram things in the world.
No title screen because who needs those things?
People searching for games on certain platforms and having a hard time, I sympathize with you. Flash Web Windows Linux Source.
Made with Haxe, OpenFL, and HaxePunk, all of those are great!

I made an easier post-compo version because I noticed that everyone except me seems to be really bad at this game.</jokingly> It's also got a couple of tweaks to make it better, but not many.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.70
#40Theme4.03
#127Overall3.74
#193Audio3.41
#199Humor3.12
#243Fun3.43
#530Mood3.00
#532Graphics3.20
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I found it quite hard: maybe the first time you inspect, it should not be so easy to die

ajfischer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Really clever concept and loved the rendering in inspect mode. However, it felt near impossible to inspect an enemy while it would just hit and kill you. I'd say make the game state pause while inspecting and then give the player a chance to get away after.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Perhaps you're underestimating the length of the Meddler's reach. You can inspect something when there's a space of up to your own width between it and yourself.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19am

awesome job. interesting mechanic, cool inspect effect

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19am

Love the graphics and the music!

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Very cool game concept, I enjoyed this.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

wow, what an amazing concept! i love it so much! but yes, the range is a liitle unforgiving, but definitely not 'near impossible'. awesome job!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

This was pretty cool. I think it would help anyone having a hard time to mention that once you inspect an enemy, you can then move away while you look through commands. It was kind of tough to figure out, but once you get it, the command swapping mechanic was really interesting. Good entry.

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

"It's not just a boulder, *sniff*, its a rock! A rock! A rock! A great, big, beautiful rock! Oh, the pioneers used to ride these babies for miles!"

Loved your game btw, really really good stuff.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Now this is a good concept! I love the code/matrix view, but I found it difficult to control. If you could somehow simplify the controls it would make this one of the coolest games I've seen so far.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

SPOILERS:

I solved that particular first bit by inspecting, running, and jumping away from the walk cycle... then continuing to meddle.

This was such a cool idea! I couldn't get past the second bit with the pole, though. You have to meddle with the spikes, then go down into the pit, but it's impossible to jump out of there... I have to say that the controls were also really unintuitive, which made the little bits of the game I could play take longer than they should have. I would really like to see an expanded version of this game!

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Yes, I'm sorry about the controls. They're preeetty bad. I spent a while trying to figure out a better way, but nothing came to me. Oh, well.
Also, second puzzle: not in the pit, over it.
Anyway, thanks for all the positive comments! I'm very glad to see that my game is enjoyed!

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:53am

Most original idea I've seen so far in the competition. Very hard game though, and I found the controls a little unintuitive. But very fun

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:05pm

This isn't entirely without precedent (changeType() by Nitrome comes to mind, as does Broken Age) but it's still a fun concept with some really cute techno-rendering.

Pitzik4 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Yes, as a matter of fact, changeType() was an inspiration for this. I'm not sure what Broken Age has to do with it, though.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:23am

Really a great game! I really enjoyed the switch in sound when you alternate the state of things. Really adds flavor to the mechanic you've made :)

May 13, 2014 @ 3:42am

Pretty hard but really fun. I really like the take on the theme. I wish with this kind of game that there was more than one way to beat each level.
Nice game!

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:28pm

The control scheme did feel quite complicated, good job making alternative control schemes though. Nice puzzler, took me longer than I want to admit to pass that level with the pit. I think you introduced the mechanics pretty nicely and let the player do some thinking of their own instead of just telling what to do at every stage of the journey.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Genius idea, I loved it! Even tough it was frustrating at first when discovering the controls, the rest of the game went quite smooth and the puzzles were quite good. I only stopped playing it because it crashed after I left the rockomotive :(

Cawrtz says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Awesome game idea !

praporomsk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:57am

Cool idea, great game, one of the best on this LD, IMHO

bendmorris says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This is fantastic. Loved the idea, graphics, and sound. My only complaint is that it can be hard to inspect moving enemies, and the controls are a bit confusing.

We had a list of games made with HaxePunk on the HaxePunk forum, but you got missed somehow, so I added you. http://forum.haxepunk.com/index.php?topic=735.0

taocayo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The control scheme could be simplified but the concept is very interesting. I like the type of puzzles that can be made with this.

SK16Games says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very original and fun game :D Congratz on the well deserved gold medal ;) - Also thanks for making GoTile that really saved me some time in my game ;)

mons657 says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Awesome

Dans17 says ...
May 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

I love this game! On the first level I jumped off the map by getting the rock over to the left and jumping up that way

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]