Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Weird Plants

by aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

More of a sandbox-y experimental game. A lot about moving around and pushing things. I hope you like it!

Controls: Click and drag on the organism to move it.
R to reset if you get stuck.

Tools Used:
IDE: FlashDevelop
Library: HaxeFlixel
Art: Gimp
Level: Ogmo
Sound: OpenMPT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#58Innovation4.03
#254Mood3.40
#276Graphics3.62
#339Theme3.51
#347Audio3.09
#603Overall3.14
#734Humor2.19
#990Fun2.49

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

I like the art and sound, but the core mechanic of pushing things around into holes just isn't much fun for me. It looks promising if you can refine the core a bit.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

Quirky game. I liked the graphics.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

I grew some plants. I liked the sounds. When my weird blob self grabbed things and moved quickly I liked it a lot, but often it felt a little juddery and uneven. If it was smoother and maybe sticky I think it would be Quite Nice.

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Cool. This is really bizarre and interesting. I think with some refinement on the movement controls it could be really, really compelling to play.

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

It has some really interesting mechanics. The pace seems a little bit slow though. The little ball things you have to move around are somewhat few and far between.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Unique and aesthetics, but like what they've said, growing the plants can be a tedious process, particularly with moving the yellow bits around.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Cool concept - reminds me of Flow a little.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The art was really nice, the controls were hard with mouse. The bubbles were not so cooperative in following my lead so I had to fight a lot to get the stuff growing. Actually on that point. The introduction was too simple so that it took me a bit too long to understand what I was supposed to be doing when the real level came. And that level was a little too long for the first level. It would be nice to break it into shorter pieces so that one feels progress and achievement more.

Don't get me wrong, I played for quite a while and it was a nice experience. It just feels like there are some very minor tweaks that would make it much more enjoyable.

That the stones can shadow the seed pocked requirements is also a minor thing that may be better changed around some.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I wish it had some music. Otherwise, I liked it

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

The kind of game where you can spend a lot of time.... grew all plants.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

It was a little hard to move the seeds around (especially for the higher requirements), but it was fun to gather them up and see what would grow. With a little refinement it would work really well on a touch screen.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

The mechanics are amazing. I like how the character uses its own body to carry resources and the way its cells move around the core feels natural, specially when it gets bigger.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

I really like the sandbox element, but moving stuff around can be a bit frustrating. I did like it when I was able to 'capture' stuff in my organism (?) so maybe grabbing stuff should be a bit easier? Still, the basic idea of just working to grow plants is really neat!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I like the art and innovative gameplay, Never been a seed before... owait...

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I love this entry! The sound effects are so gushy and nice, I feel like you could make more interactions and flesh this game out to be something really cool and interesting :)

grozamorei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

good idea/

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Cool idea. Sometimes it's hard to drag the seed.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:01am

Interesting! very different from anything else I've played. Liked the feeling of the plant growing, pushing things around was a bit hard though.

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:36am

Amazing mechanics, you should make this into a mobile game.

May 16, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice idea, sometimes frustrating to control. I liked the sound when I finished a plant, the plants themselves could have been more diverse/colorful/funny to make the experience more rewarding.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:51am

The controls felt really clunky to me. WASD would've been nice. But neat idea!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]