Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tainted Pineapples

by MisterDerek2 - Jam Entry

A lone pineapple merchant must take on skeletal demons with deviously hidden pineapple treats underneath their surface?

Controls:
Left Arrow / Right Arrow - movement
Space - jump
X - throw dynamite

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Humor(Jam)3.30
#163Fun(Jam)3.37
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#352Graphics(Jam)3.44
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#585Mood(Jam)2.67
#658Innovation(Jam)2.33
#752Theme(Jam)1.67
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

It was a fun game, really random, but I had to play it because I love pineapples :)

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

play button doesn't seem to work for me. chrome, win 8.1

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Overall, pretty fun! Felt like I should be able to blow up the bridge and go down below, but it didn't happen.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41am

Looks really nice. Pretty limited in scope, and very difficult since your only attack is very slow, difficult to aim dynamite. Jumping on the heads of the swarming enemies indefinitely was funny (although sometimes you randomly die when doing that. Not sure which one is the bug).

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

49 pineapples! I had some trouble starting the game at first--no many how many times I clicked, it wouldn't load. This one was neat in its interpretation of the theme for sure with a nice mood and relaxing audio, though I wish there had been some more strategy or variation in the gameplay.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Sweet! It was really fun and I liked the music a lot. However the sombrero wearing skeleton demons take the cake! Awesome game:D

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

That was random. Not sure what it has to do with the theme, but your animations are nice and smooth and the game controls well which is a plus. After a few tries I found you could bounce on the enemies heads, but after a while I just dies midair. Is bouncing slowing taking down health or something?

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Fun game, really random and didn't really get the connection to the theme. Insanely difficult as the game went on, liked it.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Aiming with the dynamite was quite fun. I also like the tiny dark characters.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Stingy tainted pineapples are stingy (and bouncy :)) A funny but hard game :)

Also the Start button didn't work for me on Chrome/win7 but it worked in FF. (Maybe there is an HTML element over the game in Crhome?)

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I died mid-air too, with 29 pineapples in my hands and throwing dynamite all over the place. What a cool way to die.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Pretty cool, agree with hyouko, I thought you would be able to go below ground when I saw that bridge thingie? Also I found space a little tricky to hit, the up arrow key would have been better IMO. Sweet graphics & audio.

sirdorius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Simple game yet quite amusing! Was the theme hidden in the fact beneath their body there were pineapples?o.o

increpare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

the weapon worked pretty well, gave the game a unique feel so far as my fingers could tell

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:24pm

pretty nice entry!

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Strange, just what I like

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:15pm

This was a very fun game! :D Simple yet effective graphics and great audio. I don't know what else to say. Brilliant.

Joona@MooseflyGames

minibutmany says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very fun and challenging. Good job on the music.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:40am

This was a nice little game. I liked the music and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]