Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneatha steal pie

by howieV (binarygirl) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

as i always do..i spent faarr too long wrestling with java to put my game in an applet.. every ludum seems like a different error.. this time i couldnt crack it.. some daft error constantly popping up. and for some reason now all my previous game applets give me the same error. maybe its an update thing.. anyways it doing my head in for the last.. i think im done with java forever ;p

anyhoot.. hope you enjoy my little ditty (i didnt have time to do much but i tried with what little time i did have)

sorry for it being a downloadable jar (small)
if anyone wants to help me get it working in a applet
your more than welcome haha


cheers
howie
:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#82Humor3.60
#225Graphics3.73
#736Mood2.79
#1017Audio1.54
#1124Overall2.52
#1155Fun2.16
#1172Innovation2.10
#1186Theme2.08

Comments

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I have to admit i laughed when i discovered that i indeed had been unopposed. Nice looking Game but very, very short.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Just to be clear, actions are very limited, yes? Otherwise I thought it was pretty good joke. The environment looks awesome! It's a shame there aren't more mechanics.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

This made me laugh out loud and for that it gets a fair few stars from me!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very short, but great graphics!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

this is gorgeous. Makes me want to play more of your games :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

The cake is a lie! But it's nice looking ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

cheers guys.. yes the actions are limited and its very short but i was nursing two hangovers and fighting with java security things for most of the time haha.. but i kind of like what i managed to squeeze in :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Great head movement while walking :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Wonderful art!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

hahaha..one funky character, looks like he does the moonwalk in reverse..now, i want some pie

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Good graphics, nice game.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Trust me, I wasted time trying to deal with my own share of Java applet problems, so I know the feeling. I finally cut my losses and decided I would just pack it up as a download when the time came. I probably should have experimented with that BEFORE the competition, but I didn't even realize I was going to do it until the last minute! Anyhow, what you've got here turned out well, the artwork is good and the animations are smooth. It's just unfortunate that you couldn't get any gameplay elements added. Nice work nonetheless!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

nice graphics that tie well with the theme!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The art and animation is super. I laughed at the end too. :)

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

It's not chalenge at all!!!
Why did you do that?!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I won!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Agree, the art is very nice. Loved the fact that being told up front that there wouldn't be opposition didn't stop me from thinking that there would be.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Awesome graphics yet I would have hoped for more things to do hahah

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43pm

To the point and nice graphics. Loved it. :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Yeah it's not actually funny, and semi decent graphics can't make up for that.
Sorry to be so harsh but it's bugging me to see all this ridiculous praise.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

ridiculous praise ? hah.. soz you didn't like it.. i said that i literally had barely any time to work on it..tis all fun anyhoot :)

just tried yours.. doesn't run for some reason..

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29am

Not much of a game, but still a unique visual style that has catch my interest, I liked the objects in the foreground. could be use in another game.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:51am

Lol, Completely unopposed!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Please play my game again!!!

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:25pm

The world looks awesome and super moody. Things got tense when I saw that spider come down! Then I just got the pie, very funny :)

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:07am

Haha, nothing wrong with a pun!

I like the moody graphics. it clashes a bit with the silly pun this game is, but they are nice.
I saw in your profile, that you are a musician. This game could have used some moody or silly music. Or have I missed it? Maybe next time music and no applet attempt?

I can relate to your Java applet annoyance. It's a nice idea but too much hassle (and a fair chance it will not work on someone elses computer).
For a Ludum Dare a jar is fine, a lot of people post .exe files, so why not a .jar?

jujule says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Simple and fun! Could you implement moonwalk for the post comp version?

May 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

haha i think he looks like he's backwards moonwalking already .. but good idea ;p ya i really always want to put audio/music in my entries (it might even be my favourite part) but i just really didnt have time this time.. just speaking from personal experience im always in favour of just clicking a web link as opposed to downloading and running something ..i supposed its not too much hassle tho ;p cheers guys :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]