Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

a Tree...

by dsoft20 - Jam Entry

a Tree is a collaborative asynchronous multiplayer game.
Play as a root to find water so you keep your tree healthy.

The health of the tree depends of what the player do, so if a lot of players doesn't find much water the tree become sick (as every root created cost a little energy), viceversa if the player get a lot of water the tree will become healthy.

The underground is automatically generated every time you play :P

NOTE: If the game freezes on the web version (found on gamejolt) try the standalone verion (either windows, osx, linux or android).

The game is playable on Web (requires Unity web player), Windows, OSX, linux & android.
Please note that OSX and linux builds are not tested.

Android requires the following:
Network communication - is needed to send score via internet
Phone calls - it's used for retrieving the device id, no other data is collected (for more info https://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/ScriptReference/SystemInfo-deviceUniqueIdentifier.html)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#6Theme(Jam)4.22
#9Innovation(Jam)4.19
#101Mood(Jam)3.74
#189Overall(Jam)3.49
#317Audio(Jam)3.18
#457Fun(Jam)2.83
#523Graphics(Jam)2.98
#536Humor(Jam)2.15

Comments

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Multiplayer is a big achievement in this time frame

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

This is pretty amazing for a game jam. I like the atmosphere too.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

best ld game i have played so far

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Nice game, not sure though where it is cooperative. :) But awesome relaxing gameplay.

Catman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

It must have been hard to create a multiplayer game in such a short timeframe. Good job on that! The game looks good and the atmosphere is relaxing, nice one! :)

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

Are the other paths generated by other players? If so this is a really interestinglittle toy! II'll be curious to see if you come up with similar stuff in the future.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09am

@GagaPete: The health of the tree depends of what the player do, so if a lotf players don't find much water the tree become sick (as every root created cost a little energy), viceversa if the player get a lot of water the tree will become healthy.

@KevinWorkman: Yes the other roots are the paths that other player have taken.
The rocks and water is procedurally generated every new play.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

A very relaxing game! I really like the art style and the sound track. This is a game i will come back to when i need to lose some stress. Thanks for creating this!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

Rather ingenious little idea I thought! I would love to see this concept taken further.

snade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39am

Great concept!
I got a score of 8, not sure if thats a good or a bad score.

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Long live the tree! http://i.gyazo.com/94326b81c20a727ca6cbd1876d9d8b2d.png

Moving on - incredible take on the terms "Beneath the surface"

Very impressed with this one. The fact that other players have an input on how this game is incredible; and the root view... oh my!

I confess it's not a game I'd spend much time playing; but seeing the collaboration of all the people who have played it impresses me greatly! It's more like a game-styles experiment, I suppose?

You get my vote :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30am

It's a very interesting game and an original experience.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

@JoshOS, yep it's more an experiment than a game :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I love the concept, its definitely experimental but really interesting. The multiplayer aspect is very impressive given the time limitations, and the root view is really cool.

Jagang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice and relaxing :)
I like the root view

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

At the beginning it was confusing. Did I really understand what was going on ?
But I like the mood and use of the theme !
Are all the roots behind the roots of the other players ? That's an amazing idea !
A big collaborative game
Good game ! :)

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

pretty amazing game. This has lots of potential. You should stick with it.

calvinsm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

So genius !!!! Simple music, simple game. Damn!!!!Why I didn't have the same idea =)

Innovation isn't the correct word to our game!

I really love the idea. But you need to work more in your gameplay to became rich.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

For some reason the game did not work for me, but I included a mention to it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:18am

Interesting game, not sure how the score is calculated and what they mean :( Definitely fits the theme well and would be a good app for phones after polish :)

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58am

Nice concept and cudos for the coop multiplayer. At the start it's really hard to distinguish which root is yours, but otherwise cool idea!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

When you see "connecting to server" you know shit is serious!
Really awesome little masterpiece you have here!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Here is a better video - http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very very cool game. definitely the most original this jam.

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52am

very original and creative entry even if not a real "game"
nice atmosphere :)

delfino says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Fun, interesting concept, great execution. One note, playing on the web (chrome), my browser would freeze up when selecting root view

Melondonut says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:17am

I got 0 all the time. ;( I'm can't figure out what's wrong...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]