Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Side B, Track 1

by Taugeshtu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tron-inspired lightcycles deathmatch.
Your objective is to kill your enemy. Twice. Preferably, even more times.

Controls:
WASD: control the bike (beware! It's a beast to tame)
Space / Right mouse button: flip the tile you're currently on
Z / Left mouse button: shoot
V: look backwards, look magnificent!
R: respawn yourself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#113Graphics3.97
#445Innovation3.22
#474Mood3.07
#637Audio2.61
#681Overall3.06
#760Fun2.79
#793Theme2.97
#972Humor1.81

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Pretty good. Great shiny graphics, really nice bike movement. Addictive Play. Nice job

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

LIGHTCYCLES!!! You get points because they're my absolute favourite thing ever and Tron is amazing. That aside, I had a few issues like the AI driving off the edge of the world over and over, and the weird overpowered engine that almost flipped my bike if I went full throttle. The map could have been a bit bigger and the physics need some tweaking, but I really enjoyed this game!

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Interesting idea with the level flipping mechanic.

cwkx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

This looks stunning and has really well-suited sound effects. Excellent job :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Its really confusing to have the ability to catch air in a lightbike. As well as the fact that you shoot each other rather than the normal cutting the other person off?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice graphics and neat idea with the tile flipping. Unfortunately the bike seemed to randomly flip over or get stuck sometimes, and once it got stuck upside down like a beetle. 'R' seemed to reset it which was nice, but I notice your Controls listing does not mention that.

It was also difficult to tell why enemies were resetting, and hard to see the edge of the map until you were on it.

Tron is always neat for a theme!

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Woah, loved how there's a trace that follows the vehicles!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

Really nice visuals. The tile flip mechanic is great, and a good take on the theme. It does get a bit glitchy when flipping, and a couple times I ended up stuck in Neverland.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

Great graphics and nice gameplay, I ended up playing 10 minutes!

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

Wow, just wow. If you saw any of the streaming of this being made, the custom physics engine for the bikes is absolutely mind-blowing. Would like to see this developed further with a larger grid, and joystick controls with analogue trigger throttle and brake.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Looks really cool, but I think the controls and physics need a bit of work. Very difficult to control. Visually, this is great I really like it, but make those bikes stick to the ground better and I'll like it more.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I think I posted my commentary but it seems to be missed so here I go again:
Nice and clean! A multiplayer version would be great, the difficulty is too easy but the mechanics are cool :3

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great visuals and the flipping is a nice idea. The physics are a bit wonky and the perspective feels a tad too low. Nice game though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I had a lot of random shit happening.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I have too much bug when i am plying, but graphics are great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Great idea. I think I'd pursue it post-compo and work out the glitches. I flipped time and time again but it just wasn't quite solid enough. You nailed the light cycle vibe and I really wanted to play that. I'd recommend raising the camera a bit so you can see more. Keep working on it!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Controls felt a bit glitchy and AI could be smarter.
Tron style gfx looks really good! Clever use of the theme with that flipping mechanism.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16am

Very cool light cycles and flip mechanic. I do with the view was a bit farther back so I could see the stage better, but other than that well done.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:40am

Not bad =)
Turns to slow and enemies often behinf player.
It needs more polishing in controls.

P.S. И это, неужели ты за всё время так и не научился центрировать и скрывать чёртов курсор?

cageinabird says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:14am

I found the bike really hard to control - it felt very floaty and flipped easily.

It looks fantastic though, and I could see the flipping mechanic working well across different arenas with varying layouts/obstacles.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Hi. Found this difficult to play, collision with 'light walls' didn't seem to work (Web/Chrome/W7), great sounds and visuals.

dcolgan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:41am

Super cool Tau! The flipping thing gets good marks for theme usage, and I really like the bike models.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Graphics look really nice but the stearing felt a bit off, I just ended up flying around and upside down.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]