Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arctic Antics

by Miltage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an arctic researcher. You have accidentally dropped your life's work on orcas and its pages are blowing across the ice.

Collect as many as you can before you are murdered by the ravenous orcas you love so dearly.

Use ARROW KEYS or WASD to skate.

UP - Accelerate
DOWN - Brake
LEFT/RIGHT - Steer

You can make sharper turns if you slow down, but keep moving if you want to stay alive.

TIP: The whale sometimes predicts your movement, so it's best not to skate in long, straight lines. Evasive maneuvers!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#35Overall4.02
#36Graphics4.34
#54Fun3.86
#83Theme3.90
#90Audio3.67
#129Mood3.68
#140Humor3.32
#181Innovation3.65

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Once again you manage to win my heart with beautiful art and clever gameplay. This game is very well made. Great job!

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Great job! It's short, sweet, and elegant. I love the interesting gameplay mechanic.

wacko141 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Great game...but my word, it had me screaming this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E39WWj_RpBc

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

Loved the pixel art. The 'ice' physics made it challenging to avoid being eaten, but that just added to the fun. Great job! :)

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Wonderful game, with excellent art. A little too hard (for me) at the start, perhaps make it a bit easier at the start?

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Very well done. graphics are excelent

43iscoding says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

I enjoyed your game, simple, yet art and gameplay is pretty neat. P.S. I've been expecting u can cut off circles as u skate - would be even more hardcore ;D gj, tho

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Cute art and nice audio, I like that game. Does the whale try to kill you or was I just REALLY unlucky? It is super hard to avoid

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This looks really nice, love it!

pixelpig says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Fantastic game! Love the art to bits and the concept it very original. Awesome entry, be proud!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Beautiful graphics: the fin shadows under the ice and the reflection of the skater are some of the highlights.

Fun too, nice skating controls. Got 15 pages back!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Love how polished you've managed to get this in 48 hours! Great graphics, great controls, very moreish... really good work.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Thanks to you, I now have a new least favorite aquatic mammal... Beautiful music, fantastic graphics, holy difficulty batman. You definitely have the addicting short game play element going for you. I managed to get 8 pages of my documents before giving up on studying orcas forever.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Holy crap, nice game. I might be too good at it, though. I mean, just check out my first attempt:

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/Dominator_101/LudumDare/isuck_zps31f10ee7.png

Anyway, it's a really simple game with nice art and decent music. Great job!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Awesome little game :D Looks gorgeous and easy to play!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

WHALE
WHAAAAAAAALE
Cute and brilliant work!

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Great idea, beautiful gfx, nice music, effing HARD!!
Well done :)

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

This is really cool. The art, music, and mechanics all feel pretty polished.

Having the orca appear right in front of or next to you is terrifying.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I really enjoyed playing this. Good job! :)

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

This is fantastic! hard, but beautiful

SiENcE says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I love it!

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

+5 for whales.
No, seriously, it's amazing. It took me a few tries to figure out how to get moving the way I want, but then it was just pure fun.

bazoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

I liked this. Cute gfx and quite polished game.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

Love it! Gonna come back and play more soon!

jonsul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38am

Great game. It's fun trying to figure out the whales logic. Nice concept.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28am

Nice momevement!

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

This game is amazing! I love the premise and it's super polished for a compo entry. Audio is really suitable, plus the orcas are gorgeous. Nothing wins me over like a hungry orca.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

Doesn't get much better than this

nxT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

The ice-skating mechanic feels so satisfying!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Awesome. I'll be sharing this.

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I love it, great art, music, and gameplay - a cute and simple game that's just challenging enough to be fun. Bravo.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice game, I love the graphics!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Hah, this is really cute, and the gameplay feels just right. Nice work!

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really nice feel to this, great graphics too!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Loved this! Great graphics and fun gameplay. Nice job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Simple and nice , I like reflection in ice

stoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I really like this! It's nicely implemented, fantastic mechanic and the music has an icy feel to it. I am also completely rubbish at it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Really nice game, but a bit too difficult for me. Yeah, I guess I suck at games...! ;) Still, very cute, and a nice soundtrack, too. Looking very professional!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Very cool concept! There's not much to it, but it was very fun to control. I think the past few 3D Mario games have proven that we need more ice-skating games.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Very elegant very pretty :) Id take it out on a date anyday!

peo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Very well done in all aspect :) The best I did was 4 pages!
It would be cool if there was a way to anticipate the killer whale, or maybe I missed something.

WhiteVoidia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:13am

So much fun! The whales always seemed to cut me off :P
The controls, music, and art style are perfect for this game.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59am

Beautiful game. Very cool and subtle use of very well known mechanics (?). I enjoyed this a lot!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I remember playing ice levels in old platformer games and really hating them. But you managed to remove the bad and make the idea of ice skating in games fun. Yes, it's true the game is hard, but I enjoyed it. Also thumbs up for the pretty graphics.:)

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

very addictive! great job!

KeyMaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Really really nice entry, I'm amazed that this already is a completely finished game! Nice and simple mechanics in combination with great art and sound! Great work :)

Tuism says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Very cool! I love the graphics and the gameplay, some real tension in those turns! Well done! Every little bit of communication was really good. TENSE! Good one!

Merrik says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:33am

This is very charming! I really like the sound track a lot.
I found the whale attack a little unavoidable at times. I might be missing something but I feel there could be a little more warning before the attack.

Spierek says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:26am

Pretty fun :) It'd be nice if the wind could change directions in the middle of the game.

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:58am

Feels and plays very nice. Tough to get more than 8 pages!

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:50pm

fun little game

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:41pm

That's super stylish! I love the mood and I love the mechanics! It's very hard though, avoiding the orca if it emerges right before you is nearly impossible for me.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Am I really bad at this game or is it just really hard? I never got more than 4 pages.

Needless to say but great graphics, great sound and great game as a whole.

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Quite hard and very awesome. Smooth and sweet. Great job. :)

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Quite a solid entry. Nicely done. :)

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Whale of a time!

zebi24 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Love it! :)

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:07am

Love the skating gameplay. Very unique. Game is really challenging.

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:14am

Skating in figures to avoid the orca kept me concerned and alert! The rules of the orca, which seemed to predict my next position interested me. Also how the ice that I can skate on is removed, which makes it more and more difficult challenged me. If you continue to develop this, I didn't get to a moment where I felt I had accomplished something besides the time. I also didn't have much skill at catching papers, so began to ignore them.

lightsoda says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

Love the feel of the skating, looks really nice too. Nicely done!

Catman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nice little game, very well made in all of its aspects. Great job!!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Love it! Great art and sound, awesome concept, incredibly difficult.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:35am

Very cool !

May 15, 2014 @ 12:17pm

So cute! Nice1!

billhung says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:34pm

looks simple, but quite hard. Like the BGM. And the graphics was very cute.

Anoarith says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:38am

Really nice game. Graphics and the music was really cute :)

Quite difficult tough because whales spawn really fast

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]