Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Cave

by feiss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Done in 6 hours! :(

Use cursor keys to move, X to talk.

With a surprise at the end screen, didn't want to spoil it with a screenshot :p


Many things left to do, of course. I think it could have some potential, adding obstacles, puzzles, and more graphic adventure elements. Oh, and I think "Beneath The Noise" could be a better title.. :/


oh, thanks to Photonstorm for his support and Phaser!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.73
Coolness61%
#23Mood4.17
#101Humor3.49
#402Innovation3.29
#412Overall3.32
#700Fun2.86
#792Audio2.28
#1053Theme2.47

Comments

Indie Squid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Short, but sweet game. Really nice color palette and animations.

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Beautiful graphics but not much really to the game. No replay-ability.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

I liked this a lot and wanted to see more, wish you would've spent more than 6 hours on it :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06am

Them graphics... Wow, they are awesome...
The bird turned out great...
I liked the 4th wall breaking...

anissen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Nice little "game" (more like animated novel). I really like visual mood and the ending ;)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

For only taking 6 hours the game is so good, phaser performs cool!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very impressive presentation, there's definitely solid basis to take this further. Feels like I just watched an opening cutscene without being able to play the game though, but as I say it looks excellent and I like the characters :)

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Sad that you hadn't the time to extend it (with some sort of adventure gameplay). But the art is very well done and together with the teasered "backstory", you could create something very special.

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Beautiful animations - great stuff.

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Neat presentation. It has the feel and idea of something magnificent, are you going to extend it?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Impressive work!

luisfelipeart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

In love with the graphics, nice!

feiss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Wow, thank you for the kind words, I didn't expect such this welcome. :)

I feel I could expand it a lot indeed, but don't know if it's worth it.. I'll see how it goes :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Looks really good. To bad there is no real gameplay. But the art style and mood is astonishing.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Sweet story, lovely graphics.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Absolutely Unbelievable. All my money is down on this one winning. At least on graphics. Excellent job

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really beautiful looking game with a fun little story. :) Nice entry for such short time.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Dialogue font aside, the visuals are peerless. I love controlling non-human characters too. Shame it doesn't really go anywhere.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I was wondering what I am supposed to do- dodge something? kill something? sit on something? but then i noticed the sunset and the rest of the scene after that and i just sat there marvelling at it all.

feiss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Thanks guys. Cageinabird, it's funny you complain about the font, because I tried to change it but didn't work (line 6 in the html source code) :D

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Pretty nice graphics.

Mefteg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

So touching

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The game has a really nice a calm mood.
With some ambient music it would be perfect.

samooJAM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

lmao at the frog joke. Good stuff!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I wish there was more to explore! The bird flight is exceptionally well done.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Great style. Would have loved to see what you could have added with the whole 48 hours :)

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

6 hours?! Really? VERY NICE!

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Beautiful graphics! Great work for 6 hours.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

For only 6 hours the graphics and animations are really impressive. And although it's quite short, it made me smile.

Very well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

Thrilling. One can find this experience a lot deeper than it was supposed to be. Noise concept reminds me of this short story:
http://www.burningbuilding.com/mystery/noise.htm

feiss says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

Thanks guys :)
Romko: amazing! Quite similar concept! :)

eLLectron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Really loved it !
Graphics are totally awesome ;D

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great animations, and super stylish. Some solid music would have brought it home.

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Pretty cute! I like it!

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Wish you'd spent more than 6 hours on this - with such graphics!

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Love the controls, it felt great just flying around. Lovely gfx. The ending was fun, if a bit sudden!

feiss says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Thank youu! :_)

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:50pm

More like an interactive demo rather than a game, but if it was created in 6 hours then it's nice result. Cool graphics and story.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]