Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skolgbor

by Nik Sudan - Jam Entry

It's time for Skolgbor to come out of hiding and embrace the world. Guide him to the exit whilst avoiding low flying Gaznogs.

Originally intended for the 48 hour compo but submitted to the jam due to time constraints. All content in the game is my own.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Mood(Jam)4.32
#22Audio(Jam)4.15
#58Graphics(Jam)4.35
#140Overall(Jam)3.58
#283Innovation(Jam)3.21
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#527Fun(Jam)2.70
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

xk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Really cool artwork! I haven't really got into the story part, but the game was interesting and pretty. Great job!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Gameplay-wise a bit vacant. I did like the visual style, although the animations seemed a bit slow. In addition to having to walk a great distance with interval pauses, the walking can get tedious. Anyhow nice work on setting the mood on keep on going!

NickRock says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice Game!

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28am

NICEEEE! The sound and feel and almost everything in the game is amazing! Good job :)

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

You always make something awesome, Nik. Great as always!

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:42am

Looks amazing. Interesting two button mouse control, liked that.

Helopol says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:04am

Excellent audio as usual, too bad the gameplay proves to be a bit frustrating. Anyway I'm still very curious to see what you'll do with this game-story-thingie in the future, I'll keep an eye on it :D

Nik Sudan says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:12pm

For those who are wondering what's next for Skolgbor and how it's tale came to be, look out for stuff with the Corrupt Universe series, a collection of games telling an unfortunate story across the depths of space. http://niksudan.com/corrupt-universe

pereubu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Best art so far, great job as usual :D

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Dat teasing at the end :o !

dertom says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:36am

Very good and interesting visuals. Some hints on how to play beside "use the mouse" would have been appreciated. :D None the less great looking game

May 19, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really nice visuals, and was interesting mechanic with the two buttons. Did find it a bit difficult though but was interesting to see the level grow.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]