Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Upgrade

by Keehan12 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my addictive game I like to call Mine Upgrade. It is based on Mining and Upgrading (Ha!). Give it a try and leave me some feedback :)

Use the Mouse to Point & Click. Move the mouse to the sides of the screen to move the camera!

I've made a lot of "projects" in my time but rarely do I ever finish a game and Ludum Dare has given me the motivation!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#357Theme3.48
#393Graphics3.41
#489Fun3.09
#564Overall3.18
#595Humor2.38
#632Mood2.91
#1015Innovation2.42

Comments

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51am

I like the graphics!
The gameplay is a bit slow at the beginning, but if you keep playing is becomes great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

I love the parallax cave graphics.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01am

Nice! Reminds me a lot of Cookie Clicker! Though, I found that starting the game felt really slow. It'd be nice if there was something to click on, things to look at, or updates to read to tide you over the first part (where you need to wait, but you also need to pay attention or you'll be stuck with just one worker). After the first part, the game definitely got better :]. I'm wondering how the optimal buying order works though, since the prices don't scale based on how many of each worker you have. Oh, and I thoroughly enjoyed the parallax scrolling you've got going on there :D Nice work on that!

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09am

I honestly like this kind of games and I like the way you managed to make this old concept still fun. At the beginning, it takes pretty long to earn some money, but I guess it's like real life, haha.:)

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice to see another MMF2 developer. Anyway, amazing game and I learned some stuff from your source code.

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

Agree with previous comments.
Bugs: when start 'New game' the mouse pointer is hidden, I need to quit and restart.

mandrake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18am

Relaxing game for the procrastinator. :)
Nice to have running in the background while doing less fun things.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

I like the parallax too but I think your game would be much cooler if it was one fixed screen :) scrolling doesn't bring so much :(

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

It starts slow,then it gets really addictive. You could avoid the slow start by giving more starting money or have a 1 minute increased resource gathering at the start. For some reason after I've done my first speed upgrade on the miners. The rest of the upgrades were not reflected in buy/sell menu.

Paladin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

If you calculate (speed*cargo)/price, you notice that the basic miner is a beast of efficiency, only merely second to the driller. When upgraded the effect is only more pronounced because the miner because at least 2 times more efficient than every other upgraded unit. So the game lacks an actual incentive to diversify.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Starts very slow and it's lacking a failure state... But I am still playing so I think it doesn't matter that much. Good job! (All that saving for that studpid bomb) ;)

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

I'm still playing! Awesome!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

The transition from really slow to really fast was quite satisfying.

JayPC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

1k per second I'll have the bomb in about 15 seconds Awwww Yeahhh XD fun game wish there was more stuff to get.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Truly is addictive.
And quite extensive!

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

Good game!

i have 600k+

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:49am

Nice graphics and pretty addictive. After I got all the upgrades (including the bomb), 200 of all the equipment and $1M I sold everything and closed shop. In the end I had $2.7M.
What this game needed though was price scaling with the number of equipment. E.g. more miners, higher cost per miner. Otherwise after you hit 15+ money per second you can just spam the buy button.

~AlucardX60

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Would have been even better if there would be a bigger level where you could select what to mine.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Good characters animation with minimalist graphics. Would be nice to have some hazzards (enemies, perhaps) to add some more challenge and allow the player to do some planning and add some more diversity. Anyway, a nice prototype for a 48hrs compo.

soudescolado says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice game. It doesnt run on background if minimized. Is that intended?
Maybe putting something like barracks to allow more workers (It will avoid de 15+ money per second "bug"), just like a little base. Storage options, so you cannot go infinitely afk and get insane ammounts of money when you go back. Im still at the first rock. Are there others? If they arent, you could add a thing that workers will have to walk more to get more resources. Special rocks that would make miners go back slower, or give minerals that worth double, at random.
Nice idea, full of potential :)

May 9, 2014 @ 10:42pm

nice game,I wish if I can but miner without pop up window

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]